The films comepeting for Best Picture in the 57th Annual FAMAS Awards are (from upper left, clockwise) Ay, Ayeng; Baler; Caregiver; When Love Begins; Ploning; and Magkaibigan. The awards night will be held on October 18, 2009 at the Grand Theater of PAGCOR-Paranaque.


The finalists for the 57th Annual FAMAS Awards were recently announced by the members of the Board of Directors headed by its president, Angelo Padua. The awards night will be held at the Grand Theater of PAGCOR-Paranaque on October 18 (Sunday) at 7 pm.

This year, the pioneering award-giving body has added one finalist to each category, increasing them from five nominees to six, to give more recognition to deserving artisans in the local film industry.      

Here is the list of finalists in alphabetical order: 

Best Picture: Ay, Ayeng (Aloha Pearl Productions), Baler (Viva Films), Caregiver (Star Cinema), Magkaibigan (Maverick Films), Ploning (Panoramanila Pictures, Inc.) and When Love Begins (Star Cinema). 

Best Director: Chito Rono (Caregiver), Dante Nico Garcia (Ploning), Ed Palmos (Ay, Ayeng), Jose Javier Reyes (Magkaibigan), Joyce Bernal (For the First Time) and Mark Meily (Baler).

Best Actress: Anne Curtis (Baler), Dawn Zulueta (Magkaibigan), Heart Evangelista (Ay, Ayeng), Judy Ann Santos (Ploning), Melissa Mendez (Kalakal) and Sharon Cuneta (Caregiver).

Best Actor: Aga Muhlach (When Love Begins), Allen Dizon (Paupahan), Jericho Rosales (Baler), John Estrada (Caregiver), Polo Ravales (Walang Kawala) and Richard Gutierrez (For the First Time). 

Best Supporting Actress: Boots Anson Roa (When Love Begins), Gina Pareno (Ploning), Isabel Lopez (Ay, Ayeng), Jean Garcia (Walang Kawala), Pilar Pilapil (For the First Time) and Snooky Serna (Paupahan).

Best Supporting Actor: Bojong Fernandez (Ploning), Eddie Gutierrez (For the First Time), Emilio Garcia (Walang Kawala), German Moreno (Paupahan), John Manalo (Caregiver) and Phillip Salvador (Baler). 

Best Child Actress: Janel Calma (Ang Tanging Ina Ninyong Lahat) and Jessica Mae Flores (Ay, Ayeng).

Best Child Actor: Alvin Christian Flores (Ay, Ayeng), Yuuki Kadooka (Ang Tanging Ina Ninyong Lahat), Fender Legaspi (Baler), Makisig Morales (Caregiver), and Dominico Soriano (Ay, Ayeng). 

Best Cinematography: Charlie Peralta (Ploning), Lee Meily (Baler), Rodel Bonus (Ate), Rodolfo Aves, Jr. (Magkaibigan), Rodolfo Aves, Jr. (When Love Begins) and Shane Sarte (For the First Time). 

Best Story: Dante Nico Garcia (Ploning), C.Rono/J.Castro/C.Martinez  (Caregiver), Jose Javier Reyes (Magkaibigan), Peque Gallaga (Ate), Roy Iglesias (Baler) and T. Dinopol/C. Gasmen (When Love Begins)

Best Screenplay: Dante Nico Garcia (Ploning), Dennis Evangelista (Paupahan), Ed Palmos (Ay, Ayeng), Jose Javier Reyes (Magkaibigan), P.Gallaga/L.Reyes/G. Tagasa (Ate) and Roy Iglesias (Baler). 

Best Sound: Albert Michael Idioma (Ploning), Albert Michael Idioma (When Love Begins), Albert Michael Idioma (Caregiver), Raffy Magsaysay (Ate), Ronald de Asis (Magkaibigan) and Ditoy Aguila (Baler).

Best Editing: Danilo Anonuevo (Baler), Danilo Anonuevo (Ploning), Manet Dayrit (Caregiver), Randy Gabriel (Ate), Randy Gabriel (Magkaibigan) and Vito Cajili (When Love Begins). 

Best Musical Score: Carmina Robles-Cuya (Caregiver), Jesse Lucas (Ploning), Jesse Lasaten (Ang Tanging Ina Ninyong Lahat), Jesse Lucas (Magkaibigan), Jesse Lucas (Magkaibigan) and Vincent de Jesus (Baler).

Best Theme Song: "Akap" composed by Imago and performed by Imago (Ate), "Sangandaan" composed by Joven Tan and performed by Jan Nieto (Paupahan), "Ngayon, Bukas at Kailanman" composed by Louie Ocampo and performed by Sarah Geronimo (Baler).

Best Art Direction: Aped Santos (Baler), Cyrus Khan (Ay, Ayeng), Peque Gallaga (Ate), Raymond Fernandez (Ploning), Ronnie Cruz (When Love Begins) and Sonny Maculada (Magkaibigan). 

All finalists are invited to attend this momentous event. Required attire for finalists is formal, while the public is requested to come in smart casual.

Free admission.