It was reported last Tuesday, July 27, that the show will be called Pilipinas For the Win! Why the was the name changed? "Yung ika nga'y dulas sa dila. So, mas madaling sabihin, mas madaling i-record. Mas madaling tandaan," explains Jay Montelibano, the business unit head of Pilipinas Win na Win!.


Photo: Noel B. Orsal

New formats will dominate Pilipinas Win Na Win!, ABS-CBN's new noontime show, said its business unit head Jay Montelibano. Pilipinas Win Na Win! will replace Wowowee starting this Saturday, July 31.

Montelibano spoke today, July 29, on the set of the new noontime show to give the selected press, including PEP (Philippine Entertainment Portal), a brief primer.

He said Wowowee's popular segments like "Willie of Fortune" and "Hep Hep Hooray" will be scrapped.

"They will go, talagang panibagong segments. So, wala na po yung dating segments na nakikita natin," said Montelibano, who is also the business unit head of Wowowee. "The set will stay. It's the game segments that will see really total change."

But the million peso prizes, unarguably a big factor in Wowowee's popularity, will be retained. The methods of doling them out to contestants, however, will be bigger than before.

"Nandudun pa rin yung million na pinamimigay," Montelibano said. "Mas maraming mananalo kasi yung mga games, naka-skew para sa pamilya. So kung dati one is to one yung contest at mga games, ngayon it's interactive with the barangay, saka mayro'ng games para sa pamilya. So, mas pang-pamilya, mas pang-maramihan."

NEW HOSTS. Another new factor is the introduction of new main hosts Kris Aquino and Robin Padilla. Why were they chosen?

"We know of course Kris as being the Media Queen, and bihasa na siya sa pagho-host ng mga ganyang palaro. Robin has the charisma. It would actually be an interesting combination. Iisa kasi yung adhikain nila, yung mapasaya yung tao. So both have the heart. Both have the passion. Very very interesting to see the mix," he said.

Wowowee hosts Mariel Rodriguez, Pokwang, and Valerie Concepcion were also retained.

"Silang tatlo naman, they're tried and tested already. We'd seen, of course, Mariel host other shows other than Wowowee. And they really complement and play a good support role for the two," he explained.

Other retained hosts are Bentong and Saicy Aguila. Wowowee's dancers will also return.

"Yung staff naman saka yung mga dancers, they will stay. Dun sa mga original na hosts, sila rin yung mananatili. Pati si 'Congratulations!' [April Gustilo], she'll stay," he said.

But who's out? Sadly, RR Enriquez, Carmen Soo, Kelly Misa, Jed Montero, and Isabelle Abiera have been served walking papers.

"Sila yung from old Wowowee na hindi nakasama sa new. We also have to balance it, e. Too many hosts din with nothing to do would also be...di ba?" Montelibano said.