UP Film Institute features school-inspired films this June


Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong is about Benguet kids who cross steep and slippery mountains every day in order to attend their classes.


The University of the Philippines Film Institute starts another school year with month-long screenings this June.

The film you musn’t miss is the international award-winning digital feature by Mes de Guzman, Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong, recipient of Special Mention for Best New Director at the 2006 San Sebastian Film Festival. The late Lino Brocka competed in this same Festival for the top plum, Golden Seashell, with his 1982 classic Cain at Abel.

Other June screenings include Notes on a Scandal, pitting Judi Dench against Cate Blanchett; John Tucker Must Die topbilled by Desperate Housewives hunk Jesse Metcalf, and the British comedy phenomenon The History Boys.


More attractions for the month include a fresh take on gay-pride films and the soon-to-be-announced screenings for this year’s French Spring filmfest.


Venue: UP Film Institute, Magsaysay and Osmeña Avenues, UP Diliman, Quezon City


Screening schedule:

June 4 Mon 2/7 pm
Notes on a Scandal

June 4 Mon 5 pm

John Tucker Must Die

June 5 Tuesday 2/5 pm
Notes on a Scandal


June 5 Tues 7 pm

John Tucker Must Die

June 6 Wed 2/7 pm
Notes on a Scandal


June 6 Wed 5 pm

John Tucker Must Die


June 7 Thurs 2/5 pm

Notes on a Scandal

June 7 Thurs 7 pm

John Tucker Must Die

June 8 Fri 2/5/7 pm

Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong


June 11 Mon 2/7 pm

The History Boys


June 11 Mon 5 pm
Notes on a Scandal

June 12 Tues 2/5 pm

The History Boys

June 12 Tues 7 pm

Notes on a Scandal

June 13 Wed 2/5/7 pm

The History Boys


June 14 Thurs 1 pm onwards

French Spring Event with Visiting Filmmaher Lionel Bailliu

June 14 Thurs 5 pm onwards

Selected International Short Films

June 15 Fri 2/5/7 pm

Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong

June 16 Sat 2/5/7 pm

Gray Matters

June 16 Sat 4 pm

Selected International Short Films: K (Spain)/Melodrama (Poland)/Josh (Canada)

June 18 Mon 2/5 pm

It’s a Boy Girl Thing

June 18 Mon 7 pm

Co-Ed Scandal

June 19 Tues 2/7 pm

Butterfly’s Tongue

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

June 19 Tues 5 pm

The Emperor’s Club

June 20 Wed 2/7 pm

The Emperor’s Club

June 20 Wed 5 pm

Butterfly’s Tongue


June 21 Thurs 2/7 pm

Butterfly’s Tongue

June 21 Thurs 5 pm

The Emperor’s Club

June 22 Fri 2/5/7 pm

Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong


June 23 Sat 2/5/7 pm

Tuli

June 23 Sat 4 pm

Selected International Short Films: K (Spain)/Melodrama (Poland)/Josh (Canada)

June 25 Mon 2/5/7 pm

In Good Company

June 26 Tues 2/5/7 pm

In Good Company

June 27 Wed 2/5/7 pm

In Good Company

June 28 Thurs 2/7 pm

In Good Company

June 28 Thurs 5 pm

Pan’s Labyrinth

June 29 Fri 2/5/7 pm

Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong

June 30 Sat 2/5/7 pm

Tuli

June 30 Sat 4 pm

Selected International Short Films: K (Spain)/ Melodrama (Poland)/ Josh (Canada)


WE RECOMMEND


FROM THE SUMMIT MEDIA NETWORK


SPONSORED CONTENT


COMMENTS

Loading comments

THIS JUST IN