Cannes artistic director to head Cinemanila competition

Cannes Directors Fortnight artistic director Olivier Pere himself introduced the team of Foster Child when it was screened at the Cannes Film Festival earlier this year.

Since 2005, the Cinemanila International Film Festival (CIFF) has showcased and honored the best Filipino digital films through the Digital Lokal competition.

The CIFF is honored to have as the head of its jury for the 3rd Digital Lokal Mr. Olivier Pere. Mr. Pere is the artistic director of the Directors Fortnight of the Cannes Film Festival.

The other members of the Digital Lokal jury are Mélita Toscan Du Plantier, Festival Director of the Marrakech Film Festival, and Jens Peter Jensen of the Danish Film Institute. Both organizations are organizing a Focus on Philippine Indie films.

The winners of the Digital Lokal Competition have gone on to represent the country and win accolades in international film festivals. Auraeus Solito’s Tuli, 1st Prize winner in the 2005 competition, won the Netpac Award in the 2007 Berlin International Film Festival.

Mes de Guzman’s Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong, which placed 2nd, was screened at the San Sebastián Film Festival in Spain, while Briccio Santos’s Ala Verde Ala Pobre, the 3rd Prize winner, was shown in Rome.

Last year’s Grand Prize went to Brillante Mendoza’s Manoro, which won the CinemAwenire Award in last year’s Torino International Festival of Young Cinema.

The call for entries to the 3rd Digital Lokal has been extended until July 11, 2007. Please refer to the official CIFF website for more information. You can also contact the Cinemanila Secretariat through email at

The 9th Cinemanila International Film Festival will have its run from August 8 to 19 at SM Mall of Asia and other selected SM theatres. The CIFF is organized jointly by the Independent Cinema Association of the Philippines (ICAP), the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP), the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), SM Cinemas, and a specially commissioned inter-agency committee.






Loading comments