9th Cinemanila International Film Festival winners bared

First-time actors of Jim Libiran's Tribu bagged the Best Actor Award in the recently concluded 9th Cinemanila International Film Festival.

Real-life gangsters and rappers are recognized once again for their performance in Tribu. The cast of Jim Libiran's gritty Tondo film won the Best Ensemble (International) during the recently concluded 9th Cinemanila International Film Festival (CIFF).

The non-professional actors also bagged the Best Actor Award during the 2007 Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival held at the Cultural Center of the Philippines last July.

President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo gave out the awards during the awarding ceremonies of the ninth CIFF at the Rizal Hall of Malacañang last August 15, 2007. Despite the onslaught of Typhoon Egay (international code name Sepat), Hollywood director Quentin Tarantino braved the floods of Manila and rode a pedicab to reach the official residence of the President.

He received his Lifetime Achievement Award along with another recipient Robert Malengreu, director of the Belgian Independent Film Festival.

Filipino filmmaker and director Cirio Santiago was also given a special citation for his pioneering work in foreign co-productions for the global market, starting in the early ‘70s when he produced and directed English movies for American audiences.

The film festival has been extended at the Gateway Mall until August 28, 2007.

Here is the complete list of winners for Cinemanila 2007:

Digital Lokal

Lino Award, Grand Prize | P250,000.00

Autohystoria, Raya Martin (Philippines)

Lino Grand Jury Prize | P150,000.00

Voice..., John Torres (Philippines)

Ishmael Bernal Award for Young Cinema | P70,000.00

Ernest Michael Manalastas, Delusions (Philippines)

Best Short Film | P30,000.00

The Calling, Christopher Gozum (Philippines)

International Cinema

Best ASEAN Film Award | $5,000

Mukhsin, Yasmin Ahmad (Malaysia)

Grand Prize, Lino Brocka Award | $3,000

The Edge of Heaven, Fatih Akin (Germany/Turkey)

Best ASEAN Short Film Award | $1,000

Renita, Renita, Tonny Trimarsanto (Indonesia)

Best International Short Film Award | $1,000

Waiting Time, Chul Jung (South Korea)

Other Prizes

Best Ensemble (International)

The cast of Tribu, Jim Libiran (Philippines)

Best Documentary

Neo-Lounge, Joanna Arong (Philippines)

Best Director (Digital Lokal)


Autohystoria, Raya Martin (Philippines)

Best Actress (Digital Lokal)

Ana Capri, Ala Suerte Ala Muerte (Philippines)

Maris Dimayuga, Ala Suerte Ala Muerte (Philippines)

Special Jury Prize

Persepolis, Marjana Satrapi and Vincent Paronnaud





Loading comments