Nadine Lustre beats veteran actresses at FAMAS 2019

PHOTO/S: Allan Sancon

Nadine Lustre, Eddie Garcia, and Victor Neri won the top acting awards in the 2019 FAMAS Awards.

The awards night of the 67th edition of the Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences (FAMAS) Awards was held on Sunday night, April 28, 2019, at the Meralco Theater.

Never Not Love You star Nadine Lustre was able to beat veteran stars as Best Actress in FAMAS 2019.

The other nominees were:

Judy Ann Santos (Ang Dalawang Mrs. Reyes), Gabby Padilla (Billie & Emma), Perla Bautista (Kung Paano Hinhintay Ang Dapithapon), Angelica Panganiban (Exes Baggage), Glaiza de Castro (Liway), Iyah Mina (Mamu, And a Mother Too), Sarah Geronimo (Miss Granny), Pokwang (Oda sa Wala), and Anne Curtis (Sid & Aya: Not A Love Story).

In her acceptance speech, Nadine that she initially did not want to do the movie Never Not Love You because she faced a very difficult challenge in her life. She said she almost backed out from doing the movie because she did not think she could do the role properly because of the crisis that she did not identify.

Continue reading below ↓

Nadine then thanked her real-life boyfriend James Reid by saying, "Salamat kay James na lagi akong pinu-push to be at my very best at sinisigurado na naalaala ko na I am bigger and stronger than any storm that comes my way."

Anne Curtis was honored as the first female recipient of the Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award.

The actress top-billed the action film BuyBust where she played a police officer trying to hunt down a drug lord.

Anne said in her acceptance speech at the FAMAS:

"As mentioned earlier, I'm the 1st actress to receive the FPJ Memorial Award. I'm celebrating my 22nd year in this industry. I would like to dedicate this to my mom who has been dreaming to become an actress too. I pray that there be many more films with kick-ass female leads."

A special tribute was given to the Lifetime Achievement Awardees during the Gabi ng Parangal.

Three women were chosen as recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award. They were actress-director Laurice Guillen, actress-producer Charo Santos-Concio, and the late director Marilou Diaz-Abaya.

For the celebration of the centenary of Philippine Cinema, the 67th FAMAS has decided to focus on the achievements of female film artists. The three women were honored for pushing the envelope forward, breaking glass ceilings, and developing Philippine cinema to where it is today.

The television telecast will be on May 5, 2019, Sunday, on ABS-CBN after Gandang Gabi, Vice.

Here are the winners of FAMAS 2019:

Continue reading below ↓

Best Picture: Gusto Kita With all My Hypothalamus

Grand Jury Prize (tie): Ang Panahon ng Halimaw and Fisting

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role: Nadine Lustre (Never Not Love You)

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role (tie): Eddie Garcia (ML) and Victor Neri (A Short History of a Few Bad Things)

King of Comedy Dolphy Memorial Award: Maricel Soriano

FPJ Memorial Award: Anne Curtis

Lifetime Achievement Awardees: Marilou Diaz-Abaya, Laurice Guillen and Charo Santos-Concio

German Moreno Memorial Youth Achievement Award: Maymay Entrata and Bianca Umali

Dr. Jose R. Perez Memorial Award: Ali Sotto

Outstanding Performance by an Actor for Supporting Role: Joem Bascon (Double Twisting Double Back)

Outstanding Performance by an Actress for Supporting Role: Adrienne Vergara (Dog Days)

Outstanding Achievement in Directing: Dwein Baltazar (Gusto Kita With All My Hypothalamus)

Oustanding Achievement in Cinematography: Oda Sa Wala - Neil Daza

Outsanding Achievement in Editing (tie):

Kung Paano Siya Nawala - Lawrence Ang

Pag-ukit sa Paniniwala - Hiyas Baldemor Bagabaldo

Continue reading below ↓

Best Adapted Screenplay: Tanabata's Wife - Charlson Ong, Choy Pangilinan, Mao Portus, and Juan Carlos Tarobal

Best Original Screenplay: Gusto Kita With All My Hypothalamus - Dwein Baltazar

Outstanding Achievement in Musical Score: Never Tear Us Apart AKA Fisting - Erwin Romulo, Malek Lopez and Juan Miguel Sobrepena

Outstanding Achievement in Production Design: Oda sa Wala -Maolen Fadul

Best Documentary Film: All Grown Up - Wena Sanchez

Outstanding Achievement in Visual Effects: Blackburst, Inc. (GOYO: Ang Batang Heneral)

Outstanding Achievement in Sound: Corine de San Jose (Ang Panahon ng Halimaw)

Best Original Song: "Buhay Teatro" (Paglisan) Music by Teresa Barrozo Lyrics by Christela Marquez, Aica Ganhinhin, Carl Papa and Erika Estacio

FAMAS President Award-Atty. Vince Tanada
Arturo Padua Memorial Award: Jobert Sucaldito

Special Grand Jury Prize Short Film: Balai

Best Short Film: Siyudad sa Bulawan (Jarell Serencio)

Anne Curtis

Continue reading below ↓

Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
PHOTO/S: Allan Sancon
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results