Meet the Cinemalaya 2019 winners

by Jocelyn Dimaculangan
Aug 11, 2019
(L-R) Ruby Ruiz, Jansen Magpusao, and Ricky Davao won the top acting awards in Cinemalaya 2019.
PHOTO/S: Mark Atienza

Jansen Magpusao and Ruby Ruiz were named as Best Actor and Best Actress in the 2019 Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival.

This was announced during the awarding ceremony held earlier tonight, August 11, at the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP).

Jansen won for playing a boy who became a victim of cyberbullying in the Cinemalaya 2019 entry John Denver Trending.

Meanwhile, Ruby won for portraying the grandmother of an autistic boy in the Cinemalaya 2019 entry Iska.

John Denver Trending won six awards, including Best Film, for showing the "deepening sense of gloom of a young man."

The director of the short film Kontrolado Ni Girly Ang Buhay N’ya said that he represents the youth who are fighting against the administration of President Rodrigo Duterte. His short film won the trophy for Best Screenplay. Director Gilb Baldoza said in his acceptance speech that he represents the youth na "lumalaban sa administrasyon na may diskriminasyon laban sa mga bakla."

The 10 full-length films that competed in Cinemalaya 2019 were: ANI (The Harvest), directed By Kim Zuniga and Sandro Del Rosario; Belle Douleur (Beautiful Pain), directed by Joji V. Alonso; Children of the River, directed by Maricel Cabrera–Cariaga; Edward, directed by Thop Nazareno; Fuccbois, directed by Eduardo Roy Jr; Iska, directed by Theodore Boborol; John Denver Trending, directed by Arden Rod Condez; Malamaya (The Color of Ash), directed by Danica Sta. Lucia and Leilani Chavez; Pandanggo Sa Hukay, directed by Sheryl Rose Andes; and Tabon, directed by Xian Lim.

The 10 short films that competed this 2019 were: Disconnection Notice, directed by Glenn Lowell Forneste Averia; Gatilyo (Trigger), directed by Harold Lance Pialdal; Heist School, directed by Julius Renomeron Jr; Hele ng Maharlika (Lullaby of the Free), directed by Norvin De Los Santos; Kontrolado Ni Girly Ang Buhay N’ya (Girly Is In Control of His Life), directed by Gilb Baldoza; Sa Among Agwat (In Between Spaces), directed by Don Senoc; Sa Gabing Tanging Liwanag Ay Paniniwala (Belief As The Light In Darkness), directed by Francis Guillermo; Tembong (Connecting), directed by Shaira Advincula; The Shoemaker, directed by Sheron Dayoc; and ‘Wag Mo ‘Kong Kausapin (Please Stop Talking), directed by Josef Gacutan.

Hosted by Paolo Paraiso and Ina Feleo, the awarding ceremony featured The Itchyworms as one of the performers. The band entertained the crowd with their rendition of the song "Loveteam" as clips from past Cinemalaya entries were shown onscreen.

Therese Malvar served as one of the presenters during the awards night.

Continue reading below ↓

Lou Veloso and John Arcilla presented the Best Actor award while Irma Adlawan and CCP Chairperson Margie Moran presented the Best Actress trophy.

Here are the winners of Cinemalaya 2019:

Best Full-length Film: John Denver Trending

Best Short Film: ‘Wag Mo ‘Kong Kausapin

Netpac Award for Full-length Film: John Denver Trending

Netpac Award for Short Film: Disconnection Notice

Netpac Special Mention Citation for Short Film: Sa Among Agwat

Special Jury Prize for Full-length Film: Edward

Special Jury Prize for Short Film: Tembong

Best Actress: Ruby Ruiz for Iska

Best Actor: Jansen Magpusao for John Denver Trending

Best Supporting Actress: Ella Cruz for Edward

Best Supporting Actor: Ricky Davao for Fuccbois

Best Screenplay (Full-length): Iska

Best Screenplay (Short Film): Kontrolado Ni Girly Ang Buhay N’ya

Special mention for subject matter Screenplay (Short Film): Hele ng Maharlika

Best Cinematography: John Denver Trending

Best Editing: John Denver Trending

Best Original Musical Score: John Denver Trending

Continue reading below ↓

Best Production Design: Edward

Best Sound: Iska

Audience Choice Award (Short Film): Heist School

Audience Choice Award (Full-length): Belle Douleur

Continue reading below ↓

Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
(L-R) Ruby Ruiz, Jansen Magpusao, and Ricky Davao won the top acting awards in Cinemalaya 2019.
PHOTO/S: Mark Atienza
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results