"Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo" bags six out of 12 Luna Awards

Actress Judy Ann Santos (left) and Director Joey Reyes(right) have more reasons to celebrate this Christmas season as they win Best Actress and Best Director, respectively, for their movie Kasal,Kasali, Kasalo in the 25thLuna Award of Film Academy of the Philippines. The awards night is scheduled tonight, December 27, at the Club Filipinoin San Juan City.

Unlike in past years, the Film Academy of the Philippines (FAP) announced the winners of the silver anniversary presentation of theLuna Award before the actual awards night. Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo ofStar Cinema won six out of twelve major awards.

According to FAPDirector General Leo G. Martinez, the Academy decided to reveal the winners beforethe awards night itself, which will be held tonight at the Club Filipino in SanJuan City.

Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo, the top-grossing moviein the 2006 Metro Manila Film Festival, was proclaimed Best Picture. It also won in several other categories—Best Director (Jose Javier Reyes), Best Actress (Judy Ann Santos), Best SupportingActress (Gina Pareño), Best Screenplay (Jose Javier Reyes and Mary AnnBautista), and Best Editing (Vito Cajili).

John Lloyd Cruz was awarded BestActor for All About Love, while Johnny Delgado won Best Supporting Actorfor the action movie Ligalig. Jay Linao was awarded Best Cinematography and Chito Sumera, BestProduction Designer, both for Eternity, topbilled by Dingdong Dantesand Iza Calzado. Angie Reyes of Till I Met You won for Best Sound andVincent de Jesus was noted for Best Musical Score for the fantasy movie ZsaZsaZaturnnah Ze Moveeh.

Aside from the 12 major awards, FAP will hand out specialawards to six prominent film personalities.

The FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to actor-producer Rudy Fernandez and writer-director Celso Ad. Castillo. ABS-CBN's Charo Santos-Concio and Solar Entertainmen's WilsonY. Tieng will receive the Manuel de Leon Award for their exemplaryachievements. The LambertoAvellana Memorial Award will be given posthumously to Manuel Conde and Vic Silayan.





Loading comments