MMDA announces 15 independent film finalists to the New Wave Section

The directors of the full-length films of the Metro Manila Film Fest New Wave section are: (from upper left, clockwise) Ato Bautista for Gemini, Arlyn dela Cruz for Maratabat, Diane Ventura for Mulat, Jason Paul Laxamana for Magkakabaung and Zig Dulay for M. (Mother’s Maiden Name).

The Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) announced that 15 of the 124 film entries have been chosen as finalists to the New Wave section of this year’s Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF).
MMDA Chairman Francis Tolentino, concurrent head of the MMFF, said that the 15 New Wave finalists, five each from the Full Length, Student Short Films and Animation categories were adjudged as the most promising and though-provoking creations produced by independent filmmakers, aspiring student-filmmakers, and animators in the country.
“A common thread that binds these indie films is that there is the constant drive for excellence and improvement that will likely continue to draw audiences years after they will debut in cinemas this year. These stories touch on the most common of themes but are told in the most creative and intriguing of ways,” said Tolentino.
He also said that due to the overwhelming number of entries received this year, the MMFF screening committees (composed of leaders and shakers of the independent movie industry and the academe) had a hard time selecting the finalists.
"We are thankful for the continued support and hard work of our selection committees in choosing our finalists this year. I was informed that they had a hard time coming up with the shortlist because there were so many entries."
New Wave films complement the traditional mainstream films that are expected to log records in box-office attendance this Christmas.

The following are the finalists for the various categories:
Full Length:

1. Gemini – Black Swan Pictures, Directed by Ato Bautista
2. M. (Mother’s Maiden Name) - Eight Films, Directed by Zig Dulay
3. Magkakabaung (The Coffin Maker) – Ato Entertainment Productions, Directed by Jason Paul Laxamana
4. Maratabat (Pride and Honor) – Blank Pages Production, Directed by Arlyn Dela Cruz
5. Mulat - DVent Productions, Directed by Ma. Diane Ventura
Student Short Films:

1. Kalaw - Asia Pacific Film Institute, Immy Rempis
2. Kubli - Far Eastern University, Regine Ynieto
3. Siyanawa - Southern Luzon State University (Main Campus), Gio Alpuente
4. Bimyana – De La Salle – College of St. Benilde, Kim Zuñiga
5. Ang Soltera – De La Salle Lipa, Michelle Soriano

1. An Maogmang Lugar - Ateneo de Naga University, Mary Ann Espedido
2. Cherry - Yawp! Studio, Dustin Uy
3. Gymsnatch - School of Design and Arts, College of St. Benilde, Eric Dequitos
4. Isip Bata - Alibata Productions, Eugene Ceriola & Keith Bercero
5. Shifter - Jerico Valentino C. Fuentes

From each category, a Best Picture award will be given with a cash prize of P300,000 for full length; P100,000 for animation; and P50,000 for student short. A Special Jury Prize will likewise be given in the full length and animation categories with cash prizes of P200,000 and P50,000, respectively.
There will also be awards for Best Director, Best Actress, and Best Actor in the Full Length category who will each receive P50,000.
The finalists will be shown at SM Megamall and Glorietta 4 cinemas from December 17 to 24, 2014.
Last year’s Best Picture for the full feature category was Dukit, a film directed by Bing Lao. Best Actress was Agot Isidro for the film Mga Anino ng Kahapon. Wilfredo Layug, Bor Ocampo, and Bambalito Lacap were recognized as Best Actors for Dukit.





Loading comments