And the winners of MMFF 2019 are...

Judy Ann Santos and Allen Dizon make an appeal regarding the decreasing number of cinemas for Mindanao, their MMFF 2019 entry.
PHOTO/S: Allan Sancon

Judy Ann Santos and Allen Dizon were named Best Actress and Best Actor, respectively, at the Metro Manila Film Festival 2019 awards night.

The two lead stars of the film Mindanao earned the highest acting honors during the Gabi ng Parangal of the 45th edition of the MMFF.

The MMFF 2019 awarding ceremony was held last night, December 27, at the New Frontier Theater in Cubao.

Metro Manila Development Authority and MMFF chairman Danilo Lim announced that moviegoers can look forward to the Metro Manila Summer Film Festival in 2020. He thanked Senator Bong Go for suggesting that a summer edition be held in order to help the Philippine film industry.

In her acceptance speech, Judy Ann admitted: "Na-miss ko ito [receiving an award]. Matagal-tagal na ring di nangyari ito."

She then addressed Mindanao director Brillante Mendoza: "Pwede naming pagsamahin ang tig-P100,000 naming premyo ni Allen Dizon para sa Best Actor at Best Actress para kumita na yung movie nating Mindanao. Sana bukas madagdagan na yung mga sinehan natin."

Continue reading below ↓

As for Allen Dizon, he also made the same appeal regarding the decreasing number of cinemas for their drama film Mindanao.

The actor said in an interview after the awarding ceremony that he was not expecting to win the Best Actor trophy since there were those saying that Aga Muhlach of Miracle in Cell No. 7 was a frontrunner for the acting award. Allen then dedicated his award to his fellow nominees Aga Muhlach and Rocco Nacino of the movie Write About Love.

Nora Aunor and Vilma Santos were among the recipients of the Hall of Fame Best Actress Award this year but they were both unable to attend the MMFF 2019 Gabi ng Parangal.

The 45th Metro Manila Film Festival runs from December 25, 2019 to January 7, 2020 in cinemas nationwide.

Here are the winners of the 45th MMFF 2019:

Best Picture: Mindanao

Second Best Picture: Write About Love

Third Best Picture: Sunod

Best Actress: Judy Ann Santos (Mindanao)

Best Actor: Allen Dizon (Mindanao)

Special Jury Prize for Full Length Film: Crisanto Aquino (Write About Love)

Best Supporting Actor: Joem Bascon (Write About Love)

Best Supporting Actress: Yeng Constantino (Write About Love)

Best Screenplay: Crisanto Aquino (Write About Love)

Best Director: Brillante Mendoza (Mindanao)

Best Performance by an Ensemble: Culion

Best Float: Mindanao

Gender Sensitivity Award: Mindanao

Best Child Performer: Yuna Tangog (Mindanao)

Best Musical Score: Jerrold Tarog (Write About Love)

Best Original Song: “Ikaw ang Akin” (Write About Love)

Best Sound: Mindanao

Best Visual Effects: Mindanao

Best Production Design: Sunod

Best Editing: Vanessa de Leon (Write About Love)

Best Cinematography: Myko David (Sunod)

Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award: Mindanao

FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence: Mindanao

Female Star of the Night: Carmina Villarroel

Male Star of the Night: Aga Muhlach

Here is the list of those inducted into the Hall of Fame:

Continue reading below ↓

Best Actress: Nora Aunor, Amy Austria, Vilma Santos-Recto, Maricel Soriano

Best Actor: Anthony Alonzo, Cesar Montano, Christopher de Leon

Best Supporting Actress: Eugene Domingo, Cherie Gil

Best Director: Marilou Diaz-Abaya, Joel Lamangan, Jose Javier Reyes

Best Visual Effects: Roadrunner Network Inc.

Best Art Director: Rodel Cruz, Joey Luna

Best Cinematography: Rudy Lacap, Carlo Mendoza, Romy Vitug, Lee Meily

Best Sound Engineer: Ditoy Aguila, Michael Idioma, Rolly Ruta

Best Musical Score: Dionisio Buencamino, Von De Guzman, Jaime Fabregas, Jessie Lasaten

Best Editing: Vito Cajili, Manet Dayrit, Jess Navarro, Edgardo Vinarao

Best Screenplay: Roy Iglesias, Ricky Lee, Jose Javier Reyes

Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
Judy Ann Santos and Allen Dizon make an appeal regarding the decreasing number of cinemas for Mindanao, their MMFF 2019 entry.
PHOTO/S: Allan Sancon
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results