31st Star Awards for Movies winners: John Lloyd Cruz, Piolo Pascual and Nora Aunor top acting awards

by Jocelyn Dimaculangan
Mar 8, 2015

John Lloyd Cruz and Piolo Pascual tied as Movie Actors of the Year during the 31st Star Awards for Movies held earlier tonight, March 8, 2015.

The awards night organized by the Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) took place at The Theatre, Solaire.

John Lloyd was cited for portraying a developmentally challenged young man in The Trial while Piolo was commended for the rom-com Starting Over Again. Piolo personally received his trophy from the PMPC while Sylvia Sanchez accepted JLC's award on this behalf.

Piolo and John Lloyd were able to beat Robert Arevalo of Hari Ng Tondo, John Estrada of Trophy Wife, Robin Padilla of Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo, Derek Ramsay of English Only Please and Dennis Trillo of The Janitor.

In the Movie Actress category, Superstar Nora Aunor was able to beat all other nominees for starring in the psychological suspense film Dementia.

The other nominees were Anne Curtis of The Gifted, Eugene Domingo of Mga Kuwentong Barbero (Barber’s Tales), Cherie Gil of Mana, Toni Gonzaga of Starting Over Again, Aiko Melendez of Asintado and Jennylyn Mercado of English Only Please.

Two stars also tied in the Movie Supporting Actress of the Year category: Gretchen Barretto and Sylvia Sanchez. Gretchen was cast as a developmental psychologist in The Trial while Sylvia was cast as a lesbian mother in the same movie.

The stars of The Trial were able to beat Shamaine Buencamino and Gladys Reyes of Mga Kuwentong Barbero (Barber’s Tales), Iza Calzado of Starting Over Again, Jasmine Curtis Smith of Dementia, Lotlot de Leon of Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2.

Nicco Manalo was able to bag the Movie Supporting Actor of the Year for his role as a torture victim in The Janitor. The son of Jose Manalo was able to beat the following nominees for the honor: Marc Abaya of Sundalong Kanin, Vincent de Jesus of The Trial, Richard Gomez of The Trial, Gabby Eigenmann and Jake Vargas of Asintado, as well as Jess Mendoza of Alienasyon.

When Bimby Yap was named as one of the recipients of the Movie Child Performer award, his mother Kris Aquino was seen coaching him regarding the acceptance speech that he will make. The son of Kris and James Yap won for his role as a spoiled genius in The Amazing Praybeyt Benjamin.

The other winner of the Movie Child Performer award was Miggs Cuaderno who was recognized for playing an autistic boy in Asintado.

(To view the complete list of nominees, CLICK HERE)

Here is the list of winners of the 31st Star Awards for Movies:

Nora Aunor Lifetime Achievement Award: Celia Rodriguez

Ulirang Alagad ng Pelikula sa Likod ng Kamera: Director Maryo J. delos Reyes

Best Movie of the Year: Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo

Best Indie Movie of the Year: The Janitor

Movie Actress of the Year: Nora Aunor

Movie Actor of the Year: John Lloyd Cruz (The Trial) and Piolo Pascual (Starting Over Again)

Movie Director of the Year: Enzo Williams (Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo)

Indie Movie Director of the Year: Michael Tuviera (The Janitor)

Movie Supporting Actress: Gretchen Barretto and Sylvia Sanchez (The Trial)

Movie Supporting Actor: Nicco Manalo (The Janitor)

New Movie Actor: Richard Yap (The Amazing Praybeyt Benjamin)

New Movie Actress: Sofia Andres (Relaks, It's Just Pag-ibig)

Movie Child Performer: Miggs Cuaderno (Asintado) and Bimby Yap (The Amazing Praybeyt Benjamin)

Movie Screenwriter: Ricardo Lee, Enrico Santos and Kriz Gazmen (The Trial)

Movie Cinematographer: Carlo Mendoza (Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo)

Indie Movie Screenwriter: Arlyn Dela Cruz (Maratabat: Pride and Honor)

Indie Movie Cinematographer: Rain Yamson (Magkakabaung)

Indie Movie Original Theme Song: "Sige Lang Nang Sige" with Lyrics by Bibeth Orteza, Music by Myke Solomon, Interpreted by Aiza Seguerra, Rafa Siguion-Reyna and Cris Villonco (Hari ng Tondo)

Indie Movie Production Designer: Chito Sumera (Mga Kuwentong Barbero: Barber's Tales)

Indie Movie Editor: Tara Illenberger (The Janitor)

Movie Original Theme Song: "Hindi Pa Tapos" Composed and performed by Gloc-9, arranged by Paulo Zarate (Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo)

Movie Editor: Benjamin Tolentino (Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo)

Movie Production Designer: Roy Lachica and Joel Bilbao (Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo)

Movie Sound Engineer: Albert Michael Idioma (Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo)

Movie Musical Scorer: Von de Guzman (Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo)

Indie Movie Musical Scorer: Von de Guzman (Dementia)

Indie Movie Sound Engineer: Albert Michael Idioma and Alex Tomboc (The Janitor)

Darling of the Press: Vicky Morales

Face of the Night: Iñigo Pascual and Kylie Padilla

Male Star of the Night: Julian Estrada

Female Star of the Night: Sofia Andres

Read Next
PEP Live
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the PEP.ph editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results