Cherie Gil wins Best Actress, Nora Aunor receives Lifetime Achievement Award at 2015 ASEAN International Film Festival and Awards

Cherie Gil (leftmost) won the Best Actress award during the 2015 ASEAN International Film Festival and Awards (AIFFA) held in Malaysia. Meanwhile, Nora Aunor and Jackie Chan (left frame) received the Lifetime Achievement Award and Asian Inspiration Award, respectively.

Cherie Gil was named Best Actress during the 2015 ASEAN International Film Festival and Awards (AIFFA).

The awarding ceremony was held last night, April 11, at the Borneo Convention Centre in Kuching, Malaysia.

The Filipina actress was recognized for her role as an opera singer in the film Sonata.

Cherie was able to beat other Pinay actresses such as Vivian Velez (Bendor), Barbara Miguel (Nuwebe), Krystle Valentino (Purok 7) as well as Indonesian actress Prisia (Sekola Rimba).

In her Facebook account, Cherie thanked her brother, the late Ralph John Eigenmann (more popularly known as Mark Gil. She also expressed her gratitude for the directors of Sonata, Peque Gallaga and Lore Reyes.

She posted: "Thank you so much ‎AIFF‬ / Tarima kase Malaysia / We did it! SONATA family Love love love Nelson Bakunawa Jo M Macasa Lore Reyes Wanggo Gallaga Chino Jalandoni / Thank you Ralph too!! This one is for and because of you."

In addition, Filipino filmmaker Joseph Israel Laban was named as Best Director for the 2013 Cinemalaya entry Nuwebe.

Another 2013 Cinemalaya entry, Purok 7, also took home the ASEAN Spirit Award.

Another recognition for the Philippines was earned by Benjamin Tolentino who was chosen as Best Editor for his work on Bendor.

Present during the gala night were Superstar Nora Aunor and ABS-CBN actor Piolo Pascual.

Nora received the Lifetime Achievement Award, which is presented to an ASEAN film personality who has broken the international barrier. Michelle Yeoh previously received this award during the inaugural edition of AIFFA held in 2013.

Meanwhile Jackie Chan received the Asian Inspiration Award.

Here is the list of winners of the 2015 AIFFA:

Special Jury Award: Pee Mak, Thailand

Special Jury Award2: The Lion Men, Singapore

Best Photography: Dang Xuan Truong (Inseminator) Vietnam

Best Screenplay: Ben Sihombing (Soekarno) Indonesia

Best Supporting Actress: Nadiah Wahid (Yasmine) Brunei

Best Actress: Cherie Gil (Sonata) Philippines

Best Supporting Actor: Sok Sothun (The Last Reel) Cambodia

Best Actor: Bront Palare (Terbaik Dari Langit) Malaysia

Best Director: Joseph Laban (Nuwebe) Philippines

Best Film: Terbaik Dari Langit, Malaysia

ASEAN Spirit Award: Purok 7, Philippines

Lifetime Achievement Award: Nora Aunor, Philippines

ASEAN Inspiration Award: Jackie Chan






Loading comments