38th Gawad Urian winners unveiled: Eula Valdes beats Nora Aunor in Best Actress category; Superstar teary-eyed as she received Lifetime Achievement Award

Eula Valdes (left) won the Best Actress Award in the 38th Gawad Urian while Allen Dizon (middle) bagged the Best Actor plum. Nora Aunor earned the highest accolade: the Natatanging Gawad Urian.

Nora Aunor was teary-eyed when she received the Lifetime Achievement Award from Gawad Urian earlier tonight, June 16.

The Superstar admitted she was more nervous receiving the Natatanging Gawad Urian here in the Philippines compared to the time she earned the Lifetime Achievement Award during the Asean International Film Festival in Malaysia.

(Read: Cherie Gil wins Best Actress, Nora Aunor receives Lifetime Achievement Award at 2015 ASEAN International Film Festival and Awards)

Aside from Nora, the winners of the 38th Gawad Urian were honored earlier tonight during the awards night held at Studio 10 of ABS-CBN.

Robi Domingo and Angelica Panganiban served as the hosts of the evening.

Spearheaded by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino, the ceremony was aired live tonight on Cinema One cable channel.

Superstar Nora Aunor received the highest accolade, the Natatanging Gawad Urian, from Taklub director Brillante Mendoza. Photo by Noel Orsal.

Kyla, Jed Madela and Darren Espanto gave a tribute song to the veteran actress who recently starred in the 2015 Cannes Un Certain Regard entry Taklub.

Here is the list of winners of the 38th Gawad Urian:

Best Picture (Pinakamahusay na Pelikula)
Mula sa Kung Ano ang Noon (Lav Diaz)

Best Direction (Pinakamahusay na Direksyon)
Lav Diaz (Mula sa Kung Ano ang Noon)

Best Actor (Pinakamahusay na Pangunahing Aktor)
Allen Dizon (Magkakabaung)

Best Actress (Pinakamahusay na Pangunahing Aktres)
Eula Valdes (Dagitab)

Best Supporting Actress (Pinakamahusay na Pangalawang Aktres)
Gladys Reyes (Magkakabaung)

Best Supporting Actor (Pinakamahusay na Pangalawang Aktor)
Martin del Rosario (Dagitab)

Best Short Film (Pinakamahusay na Maikling Pelikula)
Kinabukasan by Adolf Alix Jr.

Best Documentary (Pinakamahusay na Dokyumentaryo)
Walang Rape sa Bontok

Best Sound (Pinakamahusay na Tunog)
Corinne De San Jose (Violator)

Best Music (Pinakamahusay na Musika)
Erwin Fajardo (Bwaya)

Best Editing (Pinakamahusay na Editing)
Lav Diaz (Mula sa Kung Ano ang Noon)

Best Production Design (Pinakamahusay na Disenyong Pamproduksiyon)
Popo Diaz (Dementia)

Best Cinematography (Pinakamahusay na Sinematograpiya)
Neil Daza (Bwaya)

Best Screenplay (Pinakamahusay na Dulang Pampelikula)
Lav Diaz (Mula sa Kung Ano ang Noon)

URIAN WINNERS. Aside from receiving the Natatanging Gawad Urian, Nora was also part of the short film Kinabukasan that won in the category Pinakamahusay na Maikling Pelikula.

Directed by Adolf Alix Jr., this short film also stars GMA-7 actor Alden Richards.

Another Kapuso actor who was honored at the Urian was Martin del Rosario. He earned the Best Supporting Actor award for his role as a student who falls for his teacher in the Cinemalaya entry Dagitab.

When he accepted his award, Martin cursed since he was so shocked. "Ganito pala ang feeling! Sh*t! Di ako makapaniwala na Best Supporting Actor ako!"

Martin's co-star Eula Valdes received the Best Actress plum for playing a married teacher in Dagitab.

Eula candidly said in her acceptance speech, "Dumalo ako ngayon para lang rumampa at magpa-selfie sa mga nominado. Hindi ko akalain na ako ang mananalo. Kumpleto na ako."

Eula was able to beat tough contenders such as Nora Aunor (Dementia), Angeli Bayani (Bwaya), Ai-Ai delas Alas (Ronda), Eugene Domingo (Barber's Tales), Hazel Orencio (Mula sa Kung Ano ang Noon), Angelica Panganiban (The Thing Called Tadhana) and Nova Villa (1st Ko si 3rd).

The Best Actor trophy went to Magkakabaung star Allen Dizon for portraying a father who caused the death of his only daughter.

Allen was able to beat Robert Arevalo (Hari ng Tondo), Nonie Buencamino (Dagitab), JM de Guzman (That Thing Called Tadhana), Sandino Martin (Esprit de Corps), Robin Padilla (Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo), Arnold Reyes (Kasal), Jericho Rosales (Red), JC Santos (Esprit de Corps), and Dennis Trillo (The Janitor).

As for Gladys Reyes, she expressed her surprise when her name was called to receive the Best Supporting Actress award for Magkakabaung.

"Hindi naman ako nag-prepare kasi hindi ko naman alam na nanalo ako. Ang ma-nominate ay malaking karangalan na sa akin.

"Sa kabila ng pang-aapi ko, may iba pa pala ako pwede patunayan bilang aktress," said the star who played a grieving mother in Magkakabaung.

Allen Dizon, who was Gladys' co-star in Magkakabaung, bagged the Urian Best Actor award.

"Tatlong award na napalanunan ko internationally pero iba kapag dito sa Pilipinas. Mas iba ang feeling ko kasi mahigpit ang kalaban kasi magagaling ang mga Pinoy," said Allen in his acceptance speech.

The Lav Diaz film, Mula sa Kung Ano ang Noon, was a big winner that night since it bagged four Urian awards.

It won Best Picture as well as Best Screenplay and Best Direction.

The film, which runs for 5 hours and 38 minutes, also earned the award for Best Editing.

Continue reading below ↓
Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
Eula Valdes (left) won the Best Actress Award in the 38th Gawad Urian while Allen Dizon (middle) bagged the Best Actor plum. Nora Aunor earned the highest accolade: the Natatanging Gawad Urian.
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the PEP.ph editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results