63rd FAMAS acting trophies go to Toni Gonzaga and Allen Dizon; Sarah ranked as Iconic Movie Queen along with Dawn, Maricel, Nora, Susan, and Gloria

The FAMAS chose six ladies as Iconic Movie Queens: (L-R) Sarah Geronimo, Maricel Soriano, Gloria Romero, Susan Roces, Nora Aunor, and Dawn Zulueta.

Toni Gonzaga was able to beat nine other contenders for the FAMAS Best Actress award.

The star of Starting Over Again was declared the winner during the awarding ceremony of the 63rd FAMAS Awards held on Sunday night, September 20.

The Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences, Inc. (FAMAS) recognized the winners during the event held at the Newport Performing Arts Theater.

Toni Gonzaga

Toni Gonzaga was chosen as the winner over other Best Actress nominees: Aiko Melendez (Asintado), Gladys Reyes (Magkakabaung), Gretchen Barretto (The Trial), Jean Garcia, (Kamkam), Jennylyn Mercado (English Only Please), Kathryn Bernardo (She's Dating the Gangster), Kris Aquino (Feng Shui), Sam Pinto (Magnum Muslim .357), and Vina Morales (Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo).

In her acceptance speech, Toni recalled, "Nung bata kami ni Alex naglalaro kami ng artista-artistahan. May hawak kaming bote ng shampoo na kunwari nanalo kami ng award. Ngayon totoong award na hawak ko at FAMAS pa."

The wife of Paul Soriano then dedicated her trophy to her new family: the Sorianos.

This year's Best Actor, Allen Dizon, won for his portrayal as a guilt-ridden father in Magkakabaung.

He said in his speech, "Iba talaga pag FAMAS. Parang first time mong nanalo ng award."

Allen Dizon

This year's Lifetime Achievement Award went to the comedy trio of TVJ (Tito Sotto, Vic Sotto, and Joey de Leon).

Tito Sotto, Vic Sotto and Joey de Leon

The longtime hosts of Eat Bulaga were given a tribute number by Luke Mijares, Mitoy Yonting, Edgar Allan Guzman, and Toni Gonzaga.

Six actresses representing various decades of cinema personally accepted their awards.

Sarah Geronimo, Dawn Zulueta, Maricel Soriano, Nora Aunor, Susan Roces, and Gloria Romero were hailed as Iconic Movie Queens of Philippine Cinema.

To honor the six ladies, a production number was given by Kuh Ledesma and Esang De Torres, the recent winner of The Voice Kids Season 2.

Coco Martin was unable to personally receive the Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award. The ABS-CBN actor was in Naga for the Naga Festival, which is why his manager, Biboy Arboleda, accepted the award on his behalf.

WINNERS CIRCLE. Gabby Eigenmann dedicated his Best Supporting Actor trophy to his late father, Mark Gil. The Asintado star addressed his father by saying, 'Dad, may FAMAS Award na ako.' Dati nakikita ko lang ito sa bahay ng tita ko, ng dad ko. Ngayon, makikita ko na sa bahay ko."

Sylvia Sanchez thanked Aiza Seguerra for helping her, paving the way for the former to bag the Best Supporting Actress Award. She gave her message for her The Trial co-star, "Salamat kay Aiza Seguerra na siyang nagturo sa akin para magampanan ko yung role ng isang lesbiana. Tinuruan niya ako ng tamang kilos para magampanan ko yung role ko."

PROGRAM. Sam Concepcion and Coleen Garcia hosted the first part of the 63rd FAMAS awarding ceremony.

The main hosts were Jodi. Sta. Maria, Richard Gutierrez and Pops Fernandez.

Morissette Amon and Jed Madela opened the event by singing a compilation of the movie theme songs nominated this year. They performed with the World Championship of Performing Arts singers.

Carlo Mendoza is now inducted into the Hall of Fame for receiving the award of Best Cinematography for five consecutive years. He is recognized this year for his work on the historical film Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo.

Here are the winners of the 63rd FAMAS Awards:

Iconic Movie Queens of Philippine Cinema: Gloria Romero, Susan Roces, Nora Aunor, Maricel Soriano, Dawn Zulueta and Sarah Geronimo

Lifetime Achievement Award: Tito Vic and Joey

Film Critics Choice Award: Esoterika: Maynila

Best Picture: Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo

Best Actor: Allen Dizon for Magkakabaung

Best Actress: Toni Gonzaga for Starting Over Again

Best Supporting Actor: Gabby Eigenmann for Asintado

Best Supporting Actress: Sylvia Sanchez for The Trial

Best Child Performer: Miggs Cuaderno for Asintado

Best Director: Enzo Williams for Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo

Best Cinematography: Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo (Carlo Mendoza)

Best Editing: Feng Shui (Carlo Francisco Manatad)

Best Screenplay: The Trial (Ricardo Lee, Enrico Santos, Kriz Gazmen)

Best Production Design: Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo (Roy Lachica and Joel Bilbao)

Best Story: The Trial (Ricardo Lee, Enrico Santos, Kriz Gazmen)

Best in Original Theme Song: "Hindi Pa Tapos Ang Laban" by Gloc-9 for Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo

Best Musical Score: She's Dating the Gangster (Cesar Francisco)

Best Sound: Feng Shui (Addiss Tabong)

Best Visual Effects: Magnum Muslim .357 (Erick Torrente)

Male Face of the Night: Richard Gutierrez

Female Face of the Night: Toni Gonzaga

Public Service Awardee: Kaye Dacer and Julius Babao

Dr. Jose Perez Memorial Award: Lhar Santiago

Arturo Padua Memorial Award: Emy Abuan

FAMAS Presidential Awardee: Dr. Marcelo Ramirez

(To view the list of nominees of the 63rd FAMAS Awards, CLICK HERE)

Read Next
PEP Live
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
The FAMAS chose six ladies as Iconic Movie Queens: (L-R) Sarah Geronimo, Maricel Soriano, Gloria Romero, Susan Roces, Nora Aunor, and Dawn Zulueta.
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the PEP.ph editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results