Singkuwento Film Fest opens with Barbie Forteza movie; Nora-Alden short film to get special screening

The 2016 Singkuwento Film Fest slated to kick off on February 19. Laut, starring Barbie Forteza (left), is the opening film. Adolf Alix Jr.'s short film Kinabukasan starring Nora Aunor and Alden Richards (rightmost) will be screened during this film fest.

The 3rd Singkuwento International Film Festival (SIMFF) is slated to take place from February 19 to 27, 2016 at the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) in Intramuros, Manila.

Subsequent screenings will be held from March 2 to 4 and March 7 to 8 at the UPFI Film Center in UP Diliman, Quezon City.
Festival Director Perry Escaño explains, “The members of the screening committee really had a hard time choosing the finalists. They even worked during the holidays.  They went an extra mile to ensure that we have an impressive line-up. This is an exciting year for Singkuwento as we offer a variety of stories and films for exhibition. ”
This year’s festival opening film is Louie Ignacio's Laut, starring Barbie Forteza, with a 6:30 p.m. screening on February 19 at the NCCA’s Leandro Locsin Theater.
Adolfo Alix Jr.’s Kinabukasan, starring Alden Richards and Ms. Nora Aunor is part of this year short films exhibition with a special showing on February 24, 6:30 p.m.
Joel Lamangan's Sekyu starring Allen Dizon, Sunshine Dizon and Melai Cantiveros, serves as the SIMMF closing film with screening on February 27, 3:30 p.m.
The local documentary category finalists are: A Family Reunion by director Sherbien Dacalanio (Quezon City) from the Goethe-Institut Philippines; Naglalahong Pamana (Fading Heritage) by directors Lucy Lavirotte, Berna Sastrillo, David Levi and Jerrica Manongdo (Quezon City) from the University of the Philippines Diliman; and Sagisag (A Symbol) by Pauline Mae Gonida (Valenzuela) from the Colegio de San Juan de Letran Manila.
Meanwhile, there are 28 short film category finalists. Four of them are from the province of Bulacan namely Incubo (Incubus) by Herwin Cabasal, from UP Diliman; Mr. Postman by Herwin Cabasal, from UP Diliman; Reyna Christina (Queen Christina) by Pia Larina Dimagiba, UP Diliman; Upos by Mel Jastine Sanchez, from CEU Malolos.
The lone finalist from Cavite is Kyel by Arvin Kadiboy Belarmino, from De La Salle University-Dasmariñas, while the entry from Laguna is Indifference by Alfonso Silva from De La Salle College of Saint Benilde Manila.
Psychonaut by Jomz Ramirez, from UP Los Baños, is from Mandaluyong City; while The Girlfriend Experience by Marco Gatchalian, from Mapua Institute of Technology Manila is from Makati City.
The Manila short film contingents are Caretaker by Seymour Sanchez from UP Diliman; Makata (The Little Poet) by Paulo Parohinog from De La Salle College of Saint Benilde; Finish Line by Martin Mayuga from De La Salle College of Saint Benilde; Si Narra at ang Lihim na Silid sa Paradiso (Narra and the Hidden Room Paradiso) by Janine T. Maniego, from UP Diliman.
Representing Muntinlupa City is The Truth as Told in Lies by Inigo Ramil Gorgetti from UP Diliman.
From Paranaque City are Caritas by Ariel Buenaventura II from De La Salle College of Saint Benilde; and Gastusing Dasal by Rico Entico, from UP Diliman. From San Juan is Cups Ka Ba? by Juan Carlo Tarobal from UP Diliman.
The two entries from Pampanga are Anyang Melagas ya ing Tangke king Sala (Broken from the Stem of Light) by Rey Tamayo Jr. from UP Diliman; and Tuknang Mu Rin (Will End) by Brianne Carlo Amparado from Holy Angel University.
The finalists from Tarlac are Ratatat Nang Dante (Dante’s Shot), by Jasper Ramon Tulabot from Tarlac State University; and Trio by Ian Christopher Cruz also from Tarlac State Univesity.
The two entries from Taytay, Rizal, are Kalaro (Playmate), by Migo Matas, from Asia Pacific Film Institute; and Walang Nakakita (No One Saw), codirected by Migo and Coke Matas, from Asia Pacific Film Institute.
The six entries from Quezon City are: Balikbayan Box by Karl Justin Martin from New Era University; Ipinanganak na Nakayapak (Born Barefoot) by Jerrica Angela Manongdo, from UP Diliman; Man in the Cinema House by Bernard Jay Mercado from UP Diliman; Minsan sa Isang Dapithapon (Once at Dusk) by Janna Uy from Philippine Women's University; Senisado (The Gray Lines) by John Peter Chua from Ateneo de Manila University; and The Swindler by Jae-re Louise Liwanag from Colegio de San Juan De Letran Manila.
The Documentary Film (International Category) finalists are from Germany / France, Glaube Sitte Heimat (Cross and Banner),  by Jürgen Ellinghaus; Philippines, Sukat (Measure), by Jae-re Louise Liwanag, a Colegio de San Juan De Letran student and United Kingdom, Meteorite Hunters, by Laura Binnie.

For the Short Film (International) Category, the Philippines has two entries: Ang Mga Alingawngaw Sa Panahon ng Pagpasya (Echoes in Midst of Indecision) by Hector Barretto Calma, alumnus of PUP Manila and Mga Handuraw Sa Kahilitan (Daydreams of Wilderness) by Amaya Han, a University of San Carlos Cebu City alumna.
There is also an entry  from Korea, The Saviour by Nash Ang, and from Taiwan, Expatz (Gringos Locos) by Jimmie Wing.
World Premieres in this year’s festival include Johnny Mahinay’s Atras starring Mateo Mabagal, Rhett Ivan Regalado and Raycien Caberte; Jill Singson Urdaneta’s Partee starring Kiko Matos, Angela Cortez, Felix Roco; DA Palagtiw’s PISARA (BlackBoard) starring Ritz Azul, Ahron Villena and Regine Angeles; and Jojo Nadela’s Sugarol starring Jennifer Dabu, Salvador Arguelles and Eunice Lagusad.
Included in the International Film Festival Premiere Feature Film section are Mike Magat’s Isang Hakbang, starring Snooky Serna, Ricardo Cepeda and Buboy Villar and Paolo Edirinal Tesico’s Ligaw, starring Melissa Ricks, Eva Darren and Crispin Pineda.
Films in the Documentary Feature Film Exhibition are Benito Bautista’s Harana (The Search for the Lost Art of Serenade); Racing with Legends, Steven Flor, Mark Laccay, Martin C. Galán, directors.
Special screenings of award-winning Feature Films include Alvin Yapan’s An Kubo sa Kawayan, Louie Ignacio’s Child Haus, Arlyn Dela Cruz’s Maratabat, and a special screening Joselito Altarejos’ work in progress film, Siklo.
The lone Filipino Film Classic for Exhibition is  Ishamael Bernal’s Himala.
Foreign Feature Film for exhibition are Spain, Changing Direction, Kuya Manzano, director, Indie-LGBT-Punk and from USA, Randal Kamradt’s Faraway, Randal Kamradt/, director
Finally, the Short Film and Documentary Shorts are Bituka ng Sta. Mesa by Hector Barretto Calma; Donnie Sacueza’s BJ, Joe Bacus’ Ika-3 Putahi (Recipe No. 3); Jethro Patalinghug’s My Revolutionary Mother; Chloe Veloso’s Pahiyom Alang Kang Evelyn (A Smile for Evelyn); Martika Ramirez’s Escobar's Pusong Bato  and TNT (Always on the Run) by Roberto Reyes Ang.
SIFFMP tickets and festival pass are now available via TicketWorld outlets (Tel. No. 891-9999).
For queries, please email



Loading comments