JM de Guzman-starrer Imbisibol wins NETPAC Award in Vesoul, France

The delegation of Imbisibol in Vesoul, France, compised (L-R) producer Krisma Maclang Fajardo, director Lawrence Fajardo, and screenwriter John Bedia. 

Sinag Maynila 2015 entry Imbisibol won the Netpac Award at the 22nd Vesoul International Film Festival held in France.

The Philippine entry was cited “for its portrayal of Filipino migrant workers in a Japanese small town. Effective use of comedy and multiple strands of narrative culminate into a dramatic ending that hits home the film's message with sublime power.”

Directed by Lawrence Fajardo, Imbisibol depicts the lives of four Filipinos who are illegally living and working in Japan.

It is topbilled by JM de Guzman, Ricky Davao, Ces Quesada, and Allen Dizon.

Direk Lawrence attended Vesoul's International Asian Movies Film Fest with his wife and producer Krisma Maclang Fajardo and screenwriter John Bedia.

In the inaugural Sinag Maynila Film Fest, Imbisibol emerged as the Best Picture.

It also took home six other awards last year: Best Director, Best Actor for Allen Dizon, Best Actress for Ces Quesada (who tied with Alessandra de Rossi for Bambanti), Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography, and Best Production Design.  

This 2016, the second edition of the Sinag Maynila Film Festival was opened for the first time to Filipino independent filmmakers who wish to apply for a film grant.

Five chosen filmmakers received a grant of P2 million for production. They collaborated with Wilson Tieng of Solar Entertainment and festival director Brillante Mendoza to come up with stories that reflect the Filipino culture while illustrating messages that will resonate globally.

From April 21 to 26, 2016, viewers will get to see the Sinag Maynila entries that will be screened in select SM cinemas.

The chosen entries are MRS. by Adolf Alix Jr., Expressway by Ato Bautista, Dyamper by Mes de Guzman, T.P.O. (Temporary Protection Order) by Jay Altarejos, and Lila by Gino Santos.



Loading comments