Cherry Pie Picache, Bembol Roco, Garry Cabalic win top acting awards at 1st To Farm Film Festival

IMAGE Rica Young

(L-R) Best Supporting Actor Miko Laurente (Pitong Kabang Palay), Best Actor Bembol Roco (Pauwi Na), Best Actress Cherry Pie Picache (Pauwi Na), Best Supporting Actress Anna Luna (Paglipay), and Garry Cabalic (Paglipay) were honored at the 2016 To Farm Film Fest.

Prominent names in the independent film industry gathered on Wednesday night, July 20, at the Rizal Ballroom of Shangri-la Hotel Makati for the awarding ceremonies of the 1st To Farm Film Festival.

GMA-7 stars Dingdong Dantes and Carla Abellana served as the hosts of the awards night.

Pauwi Na, Paglipay, Pitong Kabang Palay, Kakampi, Pilapil, and Free Range are the six entries that competed in the first edition of the agriculture-themed film fest.

Three films were able to bag six awards each: Paglipay, Pitong Kabang Palay, and Pauwi Na.

Paglipay, directed by Zig M. Dulay, is considered as the big winner of the film festival for taking home the Best Picture award. Its other trophies include the People's Choice Award, Best Director, Best Cinematography, and Best Supporting Actress award for Anna Luna. Newbie actor Garry Cabalic was hailed as the Best Actor for his portrayal of Aeta tribe member Atan in Direk Zig's indie film.

Pauwi Na took home three technical awards including Best Production Design, Best Editing, and Best Story; and the Jury Special Award for Outstanding Film. Seasoned actor Bembol Roco tied with Garry for the Best Actor Award. Bembol was cast Mang Pepe in this film directed by Paolo Villaluna. In addition, Cherry Pie Picache, who played Mang Pepe's wife, was hailed as the Best Actress.

Pitong Kabang Palay also earned six trophies: the Second Best Picture Award, Best Sound, Best Music, Best Screenplay, To Farm Film Festival Special Award for Outstanding Ensemble, and the Best Supporting Actor award for Micko Laurente.

Here are the winners of the 1st To Farm Film Festival:

Best Supporting Actor – Micko Laurente (Pitong Kabang Palay)

Best Supporting Actress – Anna Luna (Paglipay)

Best Sound – Arnel de Vera (Pitong Kabang Palay)

Best Music – Lorenzo Nielsen (Pitong Kabang Palay)

Best Production Design – Mao Fadul (Pauwi Na)


Best Editing – Paolo Villaluna and Ellen Ramos (Pauwi Na)

Best Cinematography – Albert Banzon (Paglipay)

Best Screenplay – Maricel Cariaga (Pitong Kabang Palay)

Best Story – Paolo Villaluna and Ellen Ramos (Pauwi Na)

People's Choice AwardPaglipay

Professional Responsibility AwardKakampi

Ingenuity AwardPilapil

Best Actor – Bembol Roco (Pauwi na) and Garry Cabalic (Paglipay)

Best Actress – Cherry Pie Picache (Pauwi Na)

Jury Special Award for Outstanding FilmPauwi na

Special Award for Outstanding EnsemblePitong Kabang Palay

Best Director – Zig Dulay (Paglipay)

3rd Best PictureFree Range

2nd Best PicturePitong Kabang Palay

Best PicturePaglipay





Loading comments