John Lloyd Cruz, John Arcilla, Dennis Trillo among Best Actor nominees at 34th Luna Awards

by Nikko Tuazon
Sep 9, 2016
John Lloyd Cruz (Honor Thy Father), Dennis Trillo (Felix Manalo), John Arcilla (Heneral Luna), JM de Guzman (That Thing Called Tadhana), Sid Lucero (Apocalypse Child), and Robert "Buboy" Villar (Kid Kulafu) are nominated for Best Actor at the 34th Luna Awards.

The Film Academy of the Philippines (FAP) has officially released the list of nominees for the 34th annual Luna Awards honoring the best Filipino films released in 2015.

The nominees was revealed through FAP's official website. The awarding ceremonies will be held on September 18 at the Quezon City Sports Plaza.

Six critically acclaimed actors—ABS-CBN stars John Lloyd Cruz (Honor Thy Father) and JM de Guzman (That Thing Called Tadhana); and GMA-7 actors John Arcilla (Heneral Luna), Sid Lucero (Apocalypse Child), Dennis Trillo (Felix Manalo), and Robert "Buboy" Villar (Kid Kulafu)—are nominated for Best Actor in this year's Luna Awards.

The Best Actress nominees include Kapamilya Network's Bea Alonzo (The Love Affair), Angelica Panganiban (That Thing Called Tadhana), and Dawn Zulueta (The Love Affair); and Kapuso actresses Gwen Zamora (Apocalypse Child) and Meryll Soriano (Honor Thy Father).

Artikulo Uno's historical biopic Heneral Luna directed by Jerrold Tarog topped the list with eleven (11) nominations, only missing out on the Best Actress category.

The second most-nominated film is Arkeo Films' Apocalypse Child directed by Mario Cornejo with nine (9) nominations.

Aside from the 12 categories, special awards will also be given at the awarding ceremony.

Batangas representative Vilma Santos will receive this year's Golden Reel Award.

Film director Emmanuel Borlaza will receive the Fernando Poe Jr. Lifetime Achievement Award.

The veteran film director has directed 24 films with Vilma including I Love You, Honey (1970), Renee Rose (1970), Angelica (1971), Aloha, My Love (1972), Darna and the Giants (1973), Dyesebel at ang Mahiwagang Kabibe (1973), Lipad, Darna, Lipad (1973), Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow (1986), and Ibigay Mo Sa Akin Ang Bukas (1987), among many others.

Director/actor Herminio "Butch" Bautista is the recipient of the Manuel de Leon Award for Exemplary Achievements. The late Mrs. Azucena "Nene" Vera Perez of Sampaguita Pictures will receive a posthumous Lamberto Avellana Memorial Award.

Last but not the least, veteran actress Jaclyn Jose will receive a plaque of appreciation for winning the best actress trophy during the 69th Cannes Film Festival held last May.

Continue reading below ↓

Here is the full list of nominees for the 34th Luna Awards:

Best Picture

Apocalypse Child (Arkeo Films)

The Breakup Playlist (Star Cinema)

Crazy Beautiful You (Star Cinema)

Felix Manalo (Viva Entertainment)

Heneral Luna (Artikulo Uno)

Honor Thy Father (Reality Entertainment)

Kid Kulafu (Ten 17P/Star Cinema)

The Love Affair (Star Cinema)

That Thing Called Tadhana (Star Cinema)

Best Director

Mario Cornejo (Apocalypse Child)

Antoinette Jadaone (That Thing Called Tadhana)

Joel Lamangan (Felix Manalo)

Erik Matti (Honor Thy Father)

Nuel Naval (The Love Affair)

Paul Soriano (Kid Kulafu)

Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna)

Dan Villegas (The Breakup Playlist)

Best Screenplay

Henry Francia, E.A. Rocha and Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna)

Antoinette Jadaone (That Thing Called Tadhana)

Antoinette Jadaone (The Breakup Playlist)

Jancy Nicolas, Carmi Raymundo, Bianca Bernardino and Maan Dimaculangan-Fampulme (Crazy Beautiful You)

Bienvenido C. Santiago (Felix Manalo)

Vanessa R. Valdez (The Love Affair)

Michiko Yamamoto (Honor Thy Father)

Best Actor

John Arcilla (Heneral Luna)

Continue reading below ↓

John Lloyd Cruz (Honor Thy Father)

JM de Guzman (That Thing Called Tadhana)

Sid Lucero (Apocalypse Child)

Dennis Trillo (Felix Manalo)

Robert ‘Buboy’ Villar (Kid Kulafu)

Best Actress

Bea Alonzo (The Love Affair)

Angelica Panganiban (That Thing Called Tadhana)

Meryll Soriano (Honor Thy Father)

Gwen Zamora (Apocalypse Child)

Dawn Zulueta (The Love Affair)

Best Supporting Actor

RK Bagatsing (Apocalypse Child)

Bernardo Bernardo (Imbisibol)

Nonie Buencamino (Heneral Luna)

Tirso Cruz III (Honor Thy Father)

Allen Dizon (Imbisibol)

JM de Guzman (Imbisibol)

Dennis Padilla (The Breakup Playlist)

Best Supporting Actress

Ana Abad-Santos (Apocalypse Child)

Mylene Dizon (Heneral Luna)

Annicka Dolonius (Apocalypse Child)

Rio Locsin (The Breakup Playlist)

Ces Quesada (Imbisibol)

Alessandra de Rossi (Kid Kulafu)

Lorna Tolentino (Crazy Beautiful You)

Best Cinematography

Ike Avellana (Apocalypse Child)

Tey Clamor (Ex With Benefits)

Odyssey Flores (Kid Kulafu)

Pong Ignacio (Heneral Luna)

Rody Lacap (Felix Manalo)

Boy Yniguez (Tragic Theater)

Best Production Design

Cristina Dy (Apocalpyse Child)

Continue reading below ↓

Edgar Martin Littaua (Felix Manalo)

Joey Luna (Kid Kulafu)

Ericsson Navarro (Honor Thy Father)

Benjamin Padero and Carlo Tabije (Heneral Luna)

Best Editing

Beng Bandong (The Love Affair)

Jay Halili (Honor Thy Father)

Marya Ignacio (Crazy Beautiful You)

Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna)

Benjamin Tolentino (Ex with Benefits)

Benjamin Tolentino (That Thing Called Tadhana)

Mark Victor (Kid Kulafu)

Best Musical Scoring

Robbie Factoran, Ricardo Jugo and Mark Villar (Kid Kulafu)

Von de Guzman (Felix Manalo)

Jesse Lucas (Crazy Beautiful You)

Erwin Romulo (Honor Thy Father)

Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna)

Emerzon Texon (That Thing Called Tadhana)

Emerzon Texon (Tragic Theater)

Best Sound

Aurel Claro Bilbao (The Love Affair)

Bebet Casas and Roy Santos (Para sa Hopeless Romantic)

Alberto Michael Idioma and Lamberto Casas Jr. (Felix Manalo)

Arnel Labayo (Crazy Beautiful You)

Arnel Labayo (Ex with Benefits)

Mikko Quizon (Heneral Luna)

Mikko Quizon (Kid Kulafu)

Addiss Tabong (The Breakup Playlist)

Addiss Tabong (That Thing Called Tadhana)

Continue reading below ↓

Alex Tomboc and Alberto Michael Idioma (Tragic Theater)

Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
John Lloyd Cruz (Honor Thy Father), Dennis Trillo (Felix Manalo), John Arcilla (Heneral Luna), JM de Guzman (That Thing Called Tadhana), Sid Lucero (Apocalypse Child), and Robert "Buboy" Villar (Kid Kulafu) are nominated for Best Actor at the 34th Luna Awards.
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results