Luna Awards nominees announced

Maricel Soriano (left frame), Aga Muhlach, and Angelica Panganiban (right frame) topbill the Star Cinema film A Love Story, which received nine nominations in the 26th Annual Film Academy of the Philippines (FAP) Luna Awards.

Three films from Star Cinema--A Love Story, Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo and One More Chance received the most number of nominations for the 26th Annual Film Academy of the Philippines (FAP) Luna Awards. The nominations were announced Friday night, August 28, by FAP director-general Leo Martinez and FAP members Candy Pangilinan and Jason Abalos in simple ceremonies at SM Megamall.

A Love Story topped the nominations with nine, including Best Picture, Best Director (Maryo J. delos Reyes), Best Actor (Aga Muhlach), Best Actress (Maricel Soriano) and Best Supporting Actress (Angelica Panganiban). Dante Rivero, who plays Aga Muhlach's father, is nominated for Best Supporting Actor. Other nominees are Vanessa Valdez (Best Screenplay) Tara Illenberger (Best Editing), and Albert Michael Idioma (Best Sound).

Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo followed with eight, including Best Picture, Best Director (Jose Javier Reyes), Best Actress (Judy Ann Santos) and Supporting Actress (Gina Pareno) while One More Chance garnered five--for Best Picture, Best Actor (John Lloyd Cruz) and Best Actress (Bea Alonzo) among them.

Rounding out the Best Picture nominees are Banal (ComGuild Prods.), the directorial debut of broadcast journalist Cesar Apolinario who himself got a Best Director nod; and Faces of Love, from National Artist for Film Eddie Romero.

Two actresses each got double acting nominations: Maricel Soriano for A Love Story and Bahay Kubo (both for lead performances), while Eugene Domingo scored supporting actress nominations for Paano Kita Iibigin? and Bahay Kubo.

Below is the complete list of nominations:

Best Picture: A Love Story, Banal, Faces of Love, One More Chance and Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo.


Best Director: Maryo J. delos Reyes (A Love Story), Cesar Apolinario (Banal), Eddie Romero (Faces of Love), Jose Javier Reyes (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo), Joel Lamangan (Silip).

Best Actress: Maricel Soriano (A Love Story, Bahay Kubo), Bea Alonzo (One More Chance), Regine Velasquez (Paano Kita Iibigin?), Judy Ann Santos (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo ).

Best Actor: Aga Muhlach (A Love Story), Joel Torre (Ataul for Rent), Paolo Contis (Banal), John Lloyd Cruz (One More Chance), Piolo Pascual (Paano Kita Iibigin?)

Best Supporting Actress: Angelica Panganiban (A Love Story), Irma Adlawan (Ataul for Rent), Eugene Domingo (Bahay Kubo, Paano Kita Iibigin?), Gina PareƱo (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo).

Best Supporting Actor: Dante Rivero (A Love Story), Ronnie Lazaro (Ataul for Rent), Pen Medina (Banal), Alchris Galura (Batad: Sa Paang Palay), Wendell Ramos (Happy Hearts).

Best Screenplay: Vanessa Valdez (A Love Story), Vic Acedillo, Jr. (Batad: Sa Paang Palay), Eddie Romero & Rica Arevalo (Faces of Love), Murphy Redd & Bong Ramos (Haw-Ang), Carmi G. Raymundo & Vanessa R. Valdez (One More Chance).

Best Cinematography: Renato de Vera (Ataul for Rent), Ramoncito Redoble (Batanes), Manuel Teehankee (One More Chance), Rodolfo Aves, Jr. (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo), Marissa Floirendo (The Promise).

Best Production Design: Ma. Asuncion Torres & Anna Carmela Manda (Ang Lalaki sa Parola), Cyrus Khan (Batanes), Mitoy Sta. Ana (Enteng Kabisote 4 -- Okay Ka Fairy Ko: The Beginning of the Legend), Bianca Dadivas & Felisberto Besina (Haw-Ang), Rodell Cruz (Resiklo).

Best Editing: Tara Illenberger (A Love Story), Marya Ignacio (Ouija), Vito Cajili (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo), Jess Navarro (Silip), Marya Ignacio (You Got Me).


Best Musical Score: Von de Guzman (Bahay Kubo), Jobin Ballesteros (Faces of Love), Carmina Robles Cuya (Ouija), Allan Feliciano & Arnold Buena (Resiklo), Jesse Lucas (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo).

Best Sound: Albert Michael Idioma (A Love Story), Addiss Tabong (Katas ng Saudi), Ditoy Aguila (Ouija), Ditoy Aguila & Junel Valencia (Resiklo), Albert Michael Idioma (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo), Ditoy Aguila & Junel Valencia (The Promise).

Four special awards will be bestowed this year to highly regarded industry achievers, namely the Golden Reel Award to former President Joseph Estrada, the FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award to Ms. Boots Anson-Roa (MOWELFUND executive director); the Manuel de Leon Award (Special Recognition Award) to Director Cirio Santiago, and the Lamberto Avellana Memorial (Posthumous) Award to sound engineer Juanito Clemente.

The 26th Annual Film Academy of the Philippines Luna Awards night will be mounted (date to be announced later) by Manio Events Management at the SMX Convention Center and will be aired over Studio 23.





Loading comments