ABS-CBN named TV Station of the Year; dominates 15th Gawad Tanglaw

The Gawad Tanglaw Presidential Jury Award for Best Film Performances went to (L-R) John Lloyd Cruz, Vilma Santos-Recto, and Piolo Pascual.

ABS-CBN earned the highest award in the television category of the academe-based group Gawad Tanglaw.

Critics, scholars, and academicians once again chose the Kapamilya Network as TV Station of the Year.

In the TV category, ABS-CBN bagged 15 awards while its cable news channel ANC bagged 7 awards. Cine Mo, a digital TV channel of ABS-CBN, got one award.

GMA-7 got four awards while GMA News TV got one award. TV5 also earned one award while CNN earned two citations.

In the radio category, GMA executive Mike Enriquez of DZBB was honored as Best Radio Anchor.

The highest acting awards for television went to Coco Martin for Ang Probinsyano and Sylvia Sanchez for The Greatest Love.

Based on the movies shown last year, the top acting honors went to four celebrities. 

The Best Actress award had a tie between Charo Santos Concio for Ang Babaeng Humayo and Jaclyn Jose for Ma'Rosa.

The Best Actor award went to Allen Dizon for Iadya Mo Kami and Paolo Ballesteros for Die Beautiful.

The 15th anniversary of the academe-based group Gawad Tanglaw will be held on March 28, 2017.

Here is the list of winners of the 15th Gawad Tanglaw:

A. FILM (Pelikula)

1. Best Films

        Ang Babaeng Humayo
        Hele sa Hiwagang Hapis
        Pamilya Ordinaryo

2. Best Director
    WINNER:    Lav Diaz

3. Best Actress
    WINNERS:    Ms. Charo Santos – Ang Babaeng Humayo
          Ms. Jaclyn Jose – Ma Rosa

4. Best Actor
    WINNERS:    Allen Dizon – Iadya Mo Kami
Paolo Ballesteros – Die Beautiful
5. Best Supporting Actress
    WINNERS:    Susan Africa – Hele Sa Hiwagang Hapis
Aiko Melendez – Iadya Mo Kami

6. Best Supporting Actor
    WINNER:    Xian Lim – Everything About Her
         Jess Mendoza – Pauwi and Purgatoryo

7. Best Story
    WINNER:    Ferdinand Lapuz –Area

8. Best Screenplay
    WINNER:    Troy Espiritu – Ma Rosa

9. Best Cinematography
    WINNER:    Larry Manda – Hele Sa Hiwagang Hapis

10. Best Editing
      WINNER:    Gilbert Obispo – Area

11. Best Production Design
      WINNER:    Cyrus Khan – Laut

12. Best Musical Scoring
      WINNER:    Jesse Lucas – The Unmarried Wife

B. PRINT (Panulat)

1. Best Magazine
    WINNER:    Garage

2. Best Newspaper (Broadsheet)
     WINNER:    Inquirer

3. Best Newspaper (Tabloid)
     WINNER:    Pilipino Star

4. Best Broadsheet Columnist (Opinion)
    WINNER:    Danton Remoto (Phil. Star)

5. Best Tabloid Columnist
    WINNER:    Pablo Hernandez –Bulgar

C. RADIO (Radyo)

1. Best Public Service in Radio
    WINNER:    Wanted sa Radio nina Raffy Tulfo at Nina Taduran,
                           Radio Mindanao Network

2. Best Male DJ (FM)
    WINNER:    Justin Taylor (Easy Rock 96.3)

3. Best Female DJ (FM)
    WINNER:    Samantha and Chlor (Easy Rock 96.3)

4. Best AM Station
    Winner:    DZRH 666

5. Best FM Station
    WINNER:    Pinas FM 95.5

6. Best Radio Anchor
    WINNER: Mike Enriquez, DZBB  

D. TELEVISION (Telebisyon)

1. Best News Program
    WINNER: Newsroom, CNN Philippines    

2. Best News Program Anchor (Male)
    WINNER:     Ted Failon (2)

3. Best News Program Anchor (Female)
     WINNER:     Mitzi Borromeo, Newsroom, CNN Philippines

4. Best Morning Show Host (Male)
     WINNER:    Jorge Carino (2)
        Atom Araullo (2)

5. Best Morning Show Host (Female)
    WINNER:    Rhea Santos (7)

6. Best Business Program
    WINNER:    On the Money (ANC) and Business Nightly (ANC 27)

7. Best Lifestyle Program
    WINNER:    Executive Class and Cityscape, ANC 27

8. Best Sports Program
     WINNER:    Hardball (ANC)

9. Best Children’s Program
     WINNER:    Oyayi (2)

10. Best Public Affairs Program
       WINNER:    Beyond  Politics (ANC, 27)

11. Best Public Service Program
      WINNER:    Reaksyon (5)

12. Best Documentary Program
       WINNER:    Mukha (ANC) and Reporter’s Notebook (7)

13. Best Investigative Program
       WINNER:    Imbestigador (7)

14. Best Comedy Show
       WINNER:    Funny Juan (CineMo!)

15. Best Morning Program
       WINNER:     Magandang Buhay (2)

16. Best Game Show
       WINNER:    Minute to Win It (2)

18. Best Educational Program
     WNNER:  Greenliving (ANC 27)

17. Best Variety Show
      WINNER:     ASAP (2)

18. Best Talk Show
       WINNER:    Tonight With Boy Abunda (2)

19. Best Magazine Show
      WINNER:    I-Juander (GMA News TV)

20. Best Reality/Talent Show
       WINNER:    Your Face Sounds Familiar (2)

21. Best Drama Anthology
       WINNER:    Maalaala Mo Kaya (2)

22. Best TV Series
       WINNER:    The Greatest Love (2)

23. Best Performance by an Actor (TV Series)
       WINNER:    Coco Martin (Ang Probinsyano) (2)

24. Best Performance by an Actress (TV Series)
      WINNER:    Sylvia Sanchez (Greatest Love) (2)

25. Best Performance by an Actor (Single Performance)
       WINNER:    Albie Casino (Maalaala Mo Kaya – “Picture” (2)

26. Best Performance by an Actress (Single Performance)
      WINNER:    Sue Prado (Magpakailanman – “Nabaliw na Ina”) (7)

27. TV Station of the Year
      WINNER:    ABS-CBN


1. Presidential Jury Award for Best Film
    Area – Ms. Baby F. Go
       Executive Producer
   BG Productions International
    Director: Louie Ignacio

2. President Jury Award for Best 21st Century Cinema
    Pauwi Na – by Director Paolo Villaluna

3. Presidential Jury Award- Students’ Choice Award for Best Film
    Laut - Ms. Baby F. Go
               Executive Producer
               BG Productions International

4. Presidential Jury Prize for Best Children’s Film
    Child Haus – Ms. Baby F. Go
            Executive Producer
                           BG Productions International
    Director Louie Ignacio

5. Presidential Jury Award for Best Film Performances
    John Lloyd Cruz – Honor Thy Father, Hele sa Hiwagang Hapis, Ang Babaeng Humayo
    Piolo Pascual – Hele sa Hiwagang Hapis, Dekada 70
    Vilma Santos-Recto – Extra, Dekada 70, In my Life, Everything About Her, The Healing

6. Gawad Dr. Flaviano Lirio para sa Sining at Kultura
    Bb. Liza Lorena

7. Gawad TANGLAW para sa Natatanging Guro ng Komunikasyon
    DLS-CSB Professor

8. Pambansang Gawad Tanglaw ng Tagapagtaguyod ng Pelikulang Pilipino
    Senator Mary Grace Poe-Llamanzares – Senator, Republic of the Philippines
    Felipe M. De Leon Jr. – Former Chairman, NCCA
    Ms. Rachel Arenas – Chairman, MTRCB
    Mary Liza Diño – Seguerra – Chairperson, Film Development Council of
                                                       the Philippines

9. Natatanging Gawad TANGLAW ng Pelikulang Pilipino
    Director Mel Chionglo



Loading comments