Watch Now

Who do you think will win in Gawad Urian 2017?

Jun 28, 2017
The 40th Gawad Urian Awards Night will take place on July 20, 2017. Vilma Santos (in photo) will receive the highest honor: the Natatanging Gawad Urian.

For the 40th edition of the Gawad Urian Awards, Vilma Santos will receive the highest honor from the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino.

The Star for all Seasons will receive the Natatanging Gawad Urian for winning the most number of acting awards, a total of 8 best actress nods, from the esteemed body in the past years.

The Gawad Urian Awards Night will take place on July 20 (Thursday) at the ABS-CBN compound and will be airing live on Cinema One cable channel.

Among the nominees chosen by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino, Women of the Weeping River had the most number of nominations. Produced by Southern Lantern Studios, Haut Lesmains and TBA, this drama film about a remote Muslim community bagged 12 nominations including Best Picture and Best direction for Sheron Dayoc.

Paglipay, a ToFarm Film Fest entry about Aetas in Zambales, follows with 11 nominations.

Ma’ Rosa (from Centerstage Productions and Solar Pictures), Pamilya Ordinaryo (produced by Found Films, Quantum Films and Cinemalaya Foundation), and Ang Babaeng Humayo (produced by Cinema One Originals and Sine Olivia Pilipinas), all have 9 nominations.

This year marks Gawad Urian’s 40th year in the industry. Since its first ever awarding ceremony held in 1977, it has become one of the most prestigious and most respected film awards in the country.

The nominees and winners are chosen by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino composed of reputable pillars in Philippine cinema led by its president Rolando Tolentino together with members Grace Javier Alfonso, Butch Francisco, Mario Hernando, Bienvenido Lumbera, Miguel Rapatan, Benilda Santos, Dr. Nicanor Tiongson, Tito Genova Valiente and Lito Zulueta.

The 40th Gawad Urian will be aired on Cinema One (SkyCable ch. 56, Destiny Cable Digital Channel 56, and Destiny Analog Ch. 37) on July 20 at 9 p.m.


Here are the nominees of the 40th Gawad Urian Awards 2017:


Ang Babaeng Humayo
Baboy Halas
Pamilya Ordinaryo
Women of the Weeping River


Sheron Dayoc (Women of the Weeping River)
Lav Diaz (Ang Babaeng Humayo)
Zig Dulay (Paglipay)
Bagane Fiola (Baboy Halas)
Avid Liongoren (Saving Sally)
Lem Lorca (Ned's Project)
Brillante Mendoza (Ma'Rosa)
Eduardo Roy Jr. (Pamilya Ordinaryo)
Paolo Villaluna (Pauwi Na)


Irma Adlawan (Oro)
Nora Aunor (Hinulid)
Ai-Ai Delas Alas (Area)
Angeli Bayani (Ned's Project)
Jaclyn Jose (Ma'Rosa)
Hasmine Killip (Pamilya Ordinaryo)
Elizabeth Oropesa (Mrs.)
Cherry Pie Picache (Pauwi Na)
Charo Santos Concio (Ang Babaeng Humayo)
Precious Laila Ulao (Women of the Weeping River)


Tommy Abuel (Dagsin)
Paolo Ballesteros (Die Beautiful)
Garry Cabalic (Paglipay)
Ronwaldo Martin (Pamilya Ordinaryo)
Khalil Ramos (2Cool To B 4gotten)
Bembol Roco (Pauwi Na)
Pepe Smith (Singing in Graveyards)


Rhed Bustamante (Seklusyon)
Joan Dela Cruz (Paglipay)
Lotlot De Leon (Mrs.)
Barbie Forteza (Tuos)
Anna Anna J. Luna (Paglipay)
Lui Quiambao Manansala (Ned's Project)
Sharifa Pearlsia Ali-dans (Women of the Weeping River)
Mariam Zimadar Haji Caranay Raper (Women of the Weeping River)
Janine Marie Gutierrez (Dagsin)
Meryll Soriano (Pauwi Na)



Christian M. Bables (Die Beautiful)
John Lloyd Cruz (Ang Babaeng Humayo)
Nonie Buencamino / Anthony Buencamino (Ang Babaeng Humayo)
Julio Diaz (Ma'Rosa)
Jess Mendoza
Jesus Mendoza (Hinulid)
Taha Daranda (Weeping of the Weeping River)

Read Next
Read More Stories About
Gawad Urian
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
The 40th Gawad Urian Awards Night will take place on July 20, 2017. Vilma Santos (in photo) will receive the highest honor: the Natatanging Gawad Urian.
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results