Unofficial list: Films vying to be MMFF 2017 entries

Which movies will be selected as the last four entries of MMFF 2017? Erich Gonzales (left) top-bills Siargao while Paulo Avelino, Rachel Alejandro, and Joanna Ampil lead the cast of Ang Larawan.

Four more movies will be chosen to complete the lineup of the 2017 Metro Manila Film Festival.

The remaining entries will be chosen from the finished films submitted to the selection committee of the MMFF.

According to MMFF spokesperson Noel Ferrer, eleven finished films were submitted for consideration to the MMFF Secretariat.

Here are the films aiming to become official entries to the 43rd edition of MMFF: 

Second Coming (horror)

Director: Jet Leyco – produced by Reality Entertainment

Cast: Jodi Sta. Maria and Marvin Agustin

Ang Larawan (musical)

Director: Loy Arcenas — from Culturtain Musicat Productions

Cast: Rachel Alejandro, Joanna Ampil, and Paulo Avelino, with Nonie Buencamino, Celeste Legaspi, Zsa Zsa Padilla, Ogie Alcasid, Menchu Lauchengco Yulo, Sandino Martin, Cris Villonco, and Aicelle Santos

Deadma Walking (comedy)

Director: Julius Ruslin Alfonso — from T-Rex Entertainment

Cast: Joross Gamboa, Edgar Allan Guzman, Dimples Romana, Candy Pangilinan, Bobby Andrews, Ricci Chan, Patricia Ismael, Nico Antonio, and Jojit Lorenzo

My Fairy Tail Love Story (fantasy-romance)

Director: Perci Intalan — from Regal Entertainment

Cast: Janella Salvador and Elmo Magalona.

Siargao (romance-drama)

Producer and director: Paul Soriano — from TEN17p Productions

Cast: Jericho Rosales, Erich Gonzales, and Jasmine Curtis Smith

Haunted Forest (horror)

Director: Ian Loreños — from Regal Entertainment

Cast: Jane Oineza, Jameson Blake, Jon Lucas, Maris Racal, and Jerald Napoles

Immaculada, Pag-ibig ng Isang Ina (drama)

Writer-Director: Arlyn dela Cruz — from Blank Pages Productions and MelDa Film Productions

Cast: Elizabeth Oropesa, John Estrada, and Ara Mina. Also starring Akihiro Blanco, Elijah Canlas, Kyrshee Grengia, Jeffrey Santos, Joel Saracho, and Jemina Sy


Madilim Ang Gabi (drama)

Writer-Director: Adolfo Alix Jr.

Cast: Phillip Salvador and Gina Alajar

The Significant Other (drama)

Director: Joel Lamangan - from CineKo Films

Cast: Lovi Poe, Tom Rodriguez, and Erich Gonzales

Bamboo Dogs (A crime-thriller retro-road movie set in the 1990s, based on the Kuratong Baleleng Rubout Case of 1995)

Director: Khavn Dela Cruz — from Kamias Overground Productions

Cast: Rez Cortez, Dido de la Paz, Sue Prado, Jess Mendoza, Ron Capinding, and William Buenavente

The 11th entry is based on a true story, starring Christopher de Leon 

By tomorrow, November 17, the last four official entries of MMFF 2017 will be revealed.

The first four official finalists were selected based on submitted scripts. These were:

Ang Panday starring Coco Martin

(directed by Rodel Nacianceno, real name of Coco)

Gandarrapiddo: The Revengers starring Vice Ganda, Pia Wurtzbach, and Daniel Padilla (directed by Joyce Bernal, under Star Cinema/Viva Films)

All of You starring Jennylyn Mercado and Derek Ramsay (directed by Dan Villegas)

Meant To Beh starring Vic Sotto and Dawn Zulueta (directed by Chris Martinez)

Stories We Are Tracking

Directors Mike de Leon, Chris Martinez argue over MMFF 2017
Directors Mike de Leon, Chris Martinez argue over MMFF 2017
<em>Citizen Jake</em> director says MMFF 2017 selection process
Citizen Jake director says MMFF 2017 selection process "anomalous"
Here's why Jericho backed out of MMFF entry with Jennylyn
Here's why Jericho backed out of MMFF entry with Jennylyn
Derek replaces Jericho and other changes made in MMFF 2017
Derek replaces Jericho and other changes made in MMFF 2017





Loading comments