Joanna Ampil, Abra lead winners of 41st Gawad Urian

IMAGE Allan Sancon

Joanna Ampil (left) of Ang Larawan was named Best Actress in Gawad Urian 2018. Paolo Ballesteros and Meryll Soriano were among the presenters during the awards night.

Joanna Ampil of Ang Larawan and Abra of Respeto have received the top acting awards in the 41st Gawad Urian.

The winners chosen by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino were revealed earlier tonight, June 14, during the awarding ceremony held at the ABS-CBN Vertis Tent in Quezon City.

Joanna was able to beat the following stars in the Best Actress category: Alessandra de Rossi (Kita Kita), Angeli Bayani (Bagahe), Gloria Diaz (Si Chedeng at Si Apple), Dexter Doria (Paki), Jally Nae Gilbaliga (The Chanters), Agot Isidro (Changing Partners), Elizabeth Oropesa (Si Chedeng at Si Apple), Bela Padilla (100 Tula Para Kay Stella), Angellie Nicholle Sanoy (Bomba), and Malona Sulatan (Tu Pug Imatuy).

Meanwhile, rapper Abra was recognized over other nominees in the Best Actor category: Empoy Marquez (Kita Kita), Nonie Buencamino (Smaller and Smaller Circles), Timothy Castillo (Neomanila), Noel Comia Jr. (Kiko Boksingero), Allen Dizon (Bomba), RS Francisco (Bhoy Intsik), Jojit Lorenzo (Changing Partners), Sandino Martin (Changing Partners), and Justine Samson (Balangiga: Howling Wilderness).


Paolo Ballesteros and Meryll Soriano had a light moment when they served as presenters in the Best Actress category.

The Eat Bulaga host told Meryll: "Ladies first." Then they both laughed before Meryll asked: "Sigurado ka?"

When Paolo spoke first, he referred to himself when he said, "Ladies again."

Kita Kita lead stars Alessandra de Rossi and Empoy Marquez served as the hosts of the Gawad Urian 2018 awards night.

This year’s Natatanging Gawad Urian award went to jazz pianist, composer, arranger, and musical director Winston Raval (Vanishing Tribe). The musician has handled film scoring for over 20 movies, and he was previously honored as Best Musical Director for Ikaw Ay Akin in the 1977 Urian Awards.


Here are the winners of the 41st Gawad Urian:

Natatanging Gawad Urian - Winston Raval

Best Film - Balangiga: Howling Wilderness 

Best Actress - Joanna Ampil (Ang Larawan)

Best Actor - Abra (Respeto)

Best Supporting Actor - Dido Dela Paz (Respeto)

Best Supporting Actress - Odette Khan (Bar Boys)

Best Director - Arnel Barbarona (Tu Pug Imatuy)

Best in Production Design - Gino Gonzalez (Ang Larawan)

Best Sound - Corrine de San Jose (Respeto)

Best Music - Khavn (Balangiga: Howling Wilderness)

Best Short Film - Kiri Dalena (Gikan Sa Ngitngit Nga Kinaladman) (From the Dark Depths)

Best Documentary - Victor Delotavo Tagaro and Toshihiko Uriu (Yield)

Best Editing - Lawrence Ang (Respeto)

Best Cinematography - Mycko David (Neomanila)

Best Screenplay - Christopher Gozum (Dapol Tan Payawan Na Tayug 1931)

* All photos by Allan Sancon


Loading comments