Young Critics Circle awarding to be held on March 8

Ang Diamond Star na si Maricel Soriano at ang digital film na pinagbidahan at co-produced niya with Unitel Pictures na Inang Yaya ang big winner sa 17th annual awards ng Young Critics Circle Film Desk.

Inang Yaya makes a clean sweep of the film awards clinching prizes in all six categories namely Best Picture (which is awarded to the director), Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography and Visual Design, Best Editing, Best Sound and Aural Orchestration, and Best Performance.

Jeffrey Jeturian's digital film Kubrador nabbed nominations for Best Cinematography and Best Editing. Brillante Mendoza's Kaleldo copped a nomination for Best Performance for Cherry Pie Picache.

On top of Marya's win, the entire cast of Inang Yaya makes the roster of nominations for the Best Performance category.

Final deliberations and voting were held the night of February 9. Awarding of the 17th Annual Circle Citations for Distinguished Achievement in Film for 2006 is on Thursday, March 8, 2:00 p.m. at the Faculty Center Conference Hall in UP Diliman, Quezon City.

Itinatag nung 1990, ang YCC ay may 13 active members. Ang Best Picture winner nito last year ay ang digital film na Masahista ni Brillante Mendoza.

Here's the complete list of winners and nominees for this year's YCC film awards:

Best Film of the Year

Winner: Inang Yaya directed by Pablo Biglang-awa, Jr. and Veronica Velasco (Unitel Pictures; Tony Gloria, Producer; Wyngard Tracy and Maricel Soriano, Executive Producers; Jun Reyes and Tito Velasco, Co-Executive Producers; Noemi Peji, Line Producer)

No Other Nominee

Best Screenplay

Winner: Inang Yaya (Unitel) - Veronica Velasco

No Other Nominee

Best Achievement in Cinematography and Visual Design

Winner: Inang Yaya (Unitel) - Gary Gardoce, Director of Photography; Norman Regalado, Production Designer

Nominee: Kubrador (MLR Films) - Roberto YƱiguez, Director of Photography; Leo Abaya, Production Designer

Best Achievement in Film Editing

Winner: Inang Yaya (Unitel) - Randy Gabriel

Nominee: Kubrador (MLR Films) - Jay Halili

Best Achievement in Sound and Aural Orchestration

Winner: Inang Yaya (Unitel) - Mark Locsin and Angie Reyes, Sound Engineers; Nonong Buencamino, Musical Director

No Other Nominee


Best Performance by Male or Female, Adult or Child, Individual or Ensemble in Leading or Supporting Role

Winner: Maricel Soriano in Inang Yaya (Unitel)


Cherry Pie Picache in Kaleldo (Centerstage Productions)

Entire Cast of Inang Yaya (Unitel)





Loading comments