PSF-Cinemabuhay announces 5 finalists for P1M grant

Numbalikdiwa (top frame) and Cul de Sac (bottom frame) were films funded by PSF-Cinemabuhay in the past two years. The horror-thriller Numbalikdiwa was topbilled by Maricel Soriano and her niece Meryll (standing) while Cul de Sac featured Sam Milby in an action-thriller film.

The PLDT Smart Foundation (PSF) and Cinemabuhay today announced the five finalists for the 2009 Cinemabuhay award of P1 million. The five finalists are:

  • Daplis by Richard Legaspi
  • Sagrado Profano by Alvin Yapan
  • Slinky by Ryan Nikolai Dino
  • Slow Fade by Rommel Sales
  • The Next President: Ang Lupet by Audie Gonzales

The winning entry will be selected after a 30-minute pitch by each group of finalists. According to a source from PSF-Cinemabuhay, this list will be trimmed down to the final two and another pitch will be conducted to determine the filmmaker who will be given the P1 million grant.

"We had an especially great set of entries this year. We wish we could choose them all," said Albert Martinez, PSF executive director for film.

PSF president Butch Meily points out: "Our hope is to encourage Filipinos to keep making movies so that we can tell our stories, our hopes, fears and dreams to the world."

Previous awardees have included Numbalikdiwa (2007) and Cul de Sac (2008).

Numbalikdiwa was written and directed by Bobby Bonifacio. It was given the Audience Favorite Award in the 8th Cinemanila International Film Festival and earned for Maricel Soriano the Best Actress Award.

Cul de Sac was written and directed by Juan Miguel Sevilla. Its actors included Sam Milby, Jodi Santamaria and Chin-Chin Gutierrez.

PSF is one of the major philanthropic institutions in the Philippines and is supported by PLDT and Smart Communications. PSF aims to assist in the country's overall development with particular emphasis on three major areas: education, livelihood and community.





Loading comments