Marvel’s The Avengers begins production

(From left) Robert Downey Jr. (Tony Stark/Iron Man), Clark Gregg (SHIELD Agent Phil Coulson), Scarlett Johansson (Natasha Romanoff/Black Widow) Chris Hemsworth (Thor), Chris Evans (Steve Rogers/Captain America), Samuel L. Jackson (Nick Fury), Jeremy Renner (Clint Barton/Hawkeye), Mark Ruffalo ( Bruce Banner/The Incredible Hulk), and writer/Director Joss Whedon.


BURBANK, California--Production has commenced today in Albuquerque, New Mexico on Marvel Studios’ highly anticipated movie Marvel’s The Avengers, directed by Joss Whedon from a screenplay by Whedon.

"The film will continue principal photography in Cleveland, Ohio and New York City. Robert Downey Jr. returns as the iconic Tony Stark/Iron Man along with Chris Hemsworth as Thor, Chris Evans as Captain America, Jeremy Renner as Hawkeye, Mark Ruffalo as Hulk, Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow, Clark Gregg as Agent Phil Coulson, and Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury.

"Set for release in the US on May 4, 2012, Marvel’s The Avengers is the first feature to be fully owned, marketed and distributed by Disney, which acquired Marvel in 2009.

"Continuing the epic big-screen adventures started in Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, Iron Man 2, Thor, and Captain America: The First Avenger, Marvel’s The Avengers is the Super Hero team up of a lifetime. When an unexpected enemy emerges that threatens global safety and security, Nick Fury, Director of the international peacekeeping agency known as SHIELD, finds himself in need of a team to pull the world back from the brink of disaster.


"Based on the ever-popular Marvel comic book series, first published in 1963, Marvel’s The Avengers brings together the mightiest Super Hero characters as they all assemble together on screen for the first time. The star studded cast of Super Heroes will be joined by Cobie Smulders as Agent Maria Hill of SHIELD, as well as Tom Hiddleston and Stellan Skarsgård who will both reprise their respective roles as Loki and Professor Erik Selvig from the upcoming Marvel Studios’ feature Thor.

"Marvel’s The Avengers is being produced by Marvel Studios’ President, Kevin Feige, and executive produced by Alan Fine, Stan Lee, Louis D’Esposito, Patty Whitcher, and Jon Favreau. Marvel Studios’ Jeremy Latcham and Victoria Alonso will co-produce.

"The creative production team also includes Oscar® nominated director of photography Seamus McGarvey, production designer James Chinlund, Oscar winning costume designer Alexandra Byrne, Oscar winning visual effects supervisor Janek Sirrs, visual effects producer Susan Pickett, stunt coordinator R.A. Rondell, and four-time Oscar nominated special effects supervisor Dan Sudick. The editors include Oscar nominated Paul Rubell and Jeffrey Ford."


Ed’s Note: When content falls under "Press Statement," this means that the material is fully and directly from the company itself. The use of open-and-close quotation marks to envelope the entire text shows as much. This also means that PEP is not the author of the statement being read. PEP is simply providing the information for readers who may be interested.


Loading comments