Noel Cabangon releases 12-track revival album Acoustic Noel

Noel Cabangon recently released his fourth album with Universal Records. Titled Acoustic Noel, this 12-track album contains covers requested by his followers on Facebook.

When Noel Cabangon started receiving song requests for his album Acoustic Noel, he made one request: “Huwag lang English, OPM tayo, e.”

During the February 6 press launch of his fourth album with Universal Records at the Universal Tower in Quezon City, the singer-songwriter recalled where he got his concept for his new album.

ACOUSTIC NOEL. His newest album is very different from his three previous albums Byahe, Panaginip and Tuloy ang Biyahe.

The 50-year old acoustic singer decided to release a revival album because he knows that it really is difficult to introduce a new song, especially among today's generation.

“Sa generation ngayon mahirap magtulak ng isang bagong kanta,” admits Noel.

“I think it really takes a lot of creativity. Mahirap na magtinda ngayon actually kasi unang-una yung device na meron.

“CD is still there but for the young people, no.

“Some of them doesn’t know what CD is, they know MP3 but with the modern technology… you don’t need to come up with an album but yun ang challenge dun, how to create a song parang 'Gangnam Style' inulit niya [PSY] di ba? Pero it’s not as successful pero isa lang yung, pero di ba? Ang lakas lakas.”


Because of these factors, Noel came up with the idea of asking his followers on Facebook to suggest songs they wanted him to include in his album. He was surprised by the numerous requests he received in a span of one week.

He even received weird requests such as Miley Cyrus songs, David Guetta and other songs that are not part of his genre.

He has always wanted to do covers of Aegis songs but he can’t. “They won’t allow, e. I would have included one song,” reveals Noel.

“May narinig na ba kayong ibang version ng 'Luha' o kaya nung Basang-basa sa Ulan? ['Ulan']”

Noel is aware of the challenges facing the OPM industry, especially when it comes to technology since almost everything is now accessible online. Does he find it extra challenging to produce songs that will attract the younger generation who are tech savvy?

“Yes, you really have to promote it. Dapat techie ka you have to devote a lot of time to social networking. Kahit nandyan na siya, you still have to work it, create different versions,” says Noel.


Then the singer joked, “Siguro gawa ka ng scandal, mapapansin ka agad, di ba?”

But in spite of all these challenges, Noel’s new album Acoustic Noel is topping music sales charts, proving his bankability as a recording artist.

TRACK LISTING. Noel Cabangon's 12-track acoustic album contains songs from Ogie Alcasid, Rivermaya, Eraserheads, Parokya Ni Edgar, Basil Valdez, Aiza Seguerra and the APO Hiking Society.

  1. Nandito Ako (Originally popularized by Ogie Alcasid)
  2. Pagdating ng Panahon (Aiza Seguerra)
  3. Himala (Rivermaya)
  4. Araw Gabi (Basil Valdez)
  5. Harana (Parokya ni Edgar)
  6. Awit ng Bahaghari
  7. Makita Kang Muli (Sugarfree)
  8. Tuyo Na’ng Damdamin
  9. Bilanggo (Rizal Underground)
  10. Itanong Mo Sa Mga Bata (Asin)
  11. Huwag Mo Nang Itanong (Eraserheads)
  12. Nag-iisa, Wala Ka Na


Loading comments