Daniel Padilla, Sarah Geronimo named Male and Female Artists of the Year at 1st Pinoy Music Awards

(L-R) Daniel Padilla, Sarah Geronimo and Ogie Alcasid were among the performers honored at the 1st Pinoy Music Awards.

M.O.R. 101.9 held its very first M.O.R. Pinoy Music Awards last July 11 at the Mall of Asia Arena.

The awards night is the radio station’s way of celebrating its first anniversary. Aside from recognizing deserving artists in the OPM industry, the event also served as a way for them to give back to listeners through a free concert.

“The awardees were determined according to the total number of votes from texters, MORPMA Awards Committee, and a special group of judges composed of Asia’s Nightingale Lani Misalucha, Organisasyon ng Pilipinong Mang-aawit (OPM) vice president for special events Christian Bautista, and Filipino Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (FILSCAP) president Noel Cabangon,” according to a statement furnished by organizers.

Here are the winners of the 1st Pinoy Music Awards:

PINOY MUSIC LEGENDS. The very first M.O.R. OPM Achievement Award goes to the “Philippines’ most treasured singer-songwriter” Mr. Ogie Alcasid.


Ogie reminisced by saying, “Twenty-five years ago, I dreamed of being a singer-songwriter.” Upon seeing how successful Ogie and his songs are, it would be safe to say that his dream has definitely turned into a reality.

He continued, “You know, yung mga ganitong klaseng award na nangagaling sa inyo, it humbles me. I love this industry so much. Napakabait po ng industriyang ito sa akin at sa pamilya ko.

“And, of course, in behalf of my wonderful wife [Regine Velasquez], I just want to say thank you very much, maraming maraming salamat sa inyo, to God be the glory. Mabuhay ang OPM!”

Afterwards, Christian Bautista sang "Nandito Ako," followed by Edward Mendoza with "Bakit Ngayon Ka Lang," Bugoy Drilon’s rendition of "Pangako," and Jovit Baldivino’s version of "Hanggang Ngayon." The foursome then went up onstage to perform "Pangarap Ko: all together, to pay tribute to Ogie’s hit songs.


Parokya ni Edgar also graced the stage, performing "Buloy" for the audience. Dubbed as the “haligi ng OPM Rock,” the band was named as M.O.R.’s Rock Icon of the Year.

“Thank you sa lahat ng hindi nang-iwan sa ere,” vocalist Chito Miranda said as part of his acceptance speech. He quipped, “matanda na nga kami, kaya icon na.”

2014’S BEST. Sarah Geronimo and Daniel Padilla were chosen as Female and Male Artists of the Year.

Popsters cheered “I love you Sarah!” while the Popstar Princess received her award after being hailed as 2014’s Female Artist of the Year.

“Maraming maraming salamat po sa award na ito, at happy 1st anniversary!”

Sarah is grateful to receive this award as she celebrates her special day this month. “Ako po’y magbi-birthday na po itong darating na July 25, at napakagandang regalo ito from God, at sa inyo pong lahat.

“Sa inyo pong lahat na tumatangkilik, patuloy na tumatangkilik ng OPM. At talagang napaka importante ng papel ng mga Pinoy radio stations, katulad po ng M.O.R., kasi po sa panahon ngayon, talagang bawat isa po sa amin ay mga struggling OPM artist.


“Maraming maraming salamat po sa M.O.R. dahil nilalapit niyo po mga awitin naming, mga original music na ginagawa po namin sa mga puso ninyo. Maraming, maraming salamat at mabuhay po mga kapamilya.”

Although AshMatt fans weren’t able to see Matteo Guidicelli, romance still filled the stage.

KathNiel fans were not disappointed as they lined up near the barricades; some even tried standing on their chairs just to watch the kilig-worthy performance of Daniel Padilla and Kathryn Bernardo as they performed "Grow Old with You," originally by Adam Sandler.

Daniel Padilla bagged the Male Artist of the Year award, besting Sam Concepcion, Gloc 9, Jireh Lim, and Vice Ganda. The teen star also won the Album of the Year award for DJP. Daniel ran swiftly on stage after being called twice.

“Thank you so much po ulit. Thank sa award ulit,” Daniel said excitedly.

Vice Ganda may not have been chosen as the Male Artist of the Year, but he was definitely not disappointed. The host-comedian was lauded as the Phenomenal Artist of the Year and his song "Manhid" earned for him the Novelty Song of the Year award.


Meanwhile, upcoming artists Jireh Lim and Garth Garcia took home the awards for Breakthrough Artist of the Year and Best New Artist, respectively.

SONGS THAT CONQUERED AIRWAVES. "Chinito" by Yeng Constantino was chosen as the Song of the Year. Yeng enthusiastically went up on stage cheering, “YAY! Maraming salamat sa Star Magic, sa aking Star Magic family, sa aking Cornerstone Family, at siyempre sa songwriter ng kantang ito. Jed Dumawal, para to sa 'yo, napakagaling mong songwriter.

“At sa lahat ng mga OPM artist, na sobrang pinaglalaban ang musikang Pinoy, para po sa atin tong lahat. Congrats everyone, thank you! Thank you M.O.R.!”

As for the Best Collaboration of the Year category, the song "Dati" by Sam Concepcion, Tippy Dos Santos and rapper Quest was able to beat Vice Ganda’s "Karakaraka."

Sam said that he didn’t expect this win. He then dedicated the award “para sa mga nagmahal ng 'Dati.'”


Jovit Baldivino was able to beat Daniel Padilla’s renditions with his version of "Pusong Bato," a karaoke favourite. Jovit dedicated the song “para sa lahat ng tinamaan ng 'Pusong Bato.'” The Pilipinas Got Talent winner continued: “Maraming salmat po, lalo na kay God dahil binigyan Niya ako ulit ng plaque.”

Other winners that night include Toni Gonzaga’s "Kahit Na" as Dance Hit of the Year, "Balay ni Mayang" by Kyle Wong and Martina San Diego for the Best Regional Song, and Companero Brandy’s jingle as the Best Kantamercial.

ADDITIONAL PERFORMANCES. Janice Javier, Morissette Amon, Klarisse de Guzman, and Liezel Garcia performed the theme songs of ABS-CBN telenovelas.

The Voice Philippines' contestant “na napahanga si Ms. Lea Salonga” Darryl Shy gave his rendition of "Kapalaran Ko Ay Magbago," while newbie Eurika sang "Kung Pwede Lang."





Loading comments