12 finalists for PhilPop 2016 announced

PhilPop 2016 recently revealed its list of Top 12 finalists. The awards night will take place on July 23 at the KIA Theatre.

The Philippine Popular Music Festival or PhilPop recently revealed the 12 finalists that will compete for this year’s edition.

According to its official website, philpop.com.ph, this batch has a mix of competition veterans and a new breed of composers.

Here are the 12 songs and the composers competing in this year’s PhilPop:

“Pabili Po”, Aikee Aplacador
“Stars Are Aligned”, JC Jose
“Di Na Muli”, Jazz Nicolas and Wally Acolola
“Sintunado”, Jeroel Maranan
“Nobody But You”, Keiko Necesario
“Kahon”, Ramiru Mataro
“Binibini sa MRT”, Johann Garcia
“Lahat”, Soc Villanueva
“Baliw sa Ex-Boyfriend Ko”, Joan Da
“Tinatangi”, Paolo and Miguel Guico
“Friday Night”, Karl Guarano and Daryl Reyes
“Dumadagundong”, Brian Cua and Mike Villegas

PhilPop has yet to announce the interpreters for the songs.

The songwriting competition continues its partnership with Viva Entertainment, which will produce its compilation album.

Last year, the song “Triangulo” composed and interpreted by Thryo and Yumi won the grand prize of one million pesos.


Nadine Lustre and James Reid competed against each other in last year's edition.

Nadine had a duet with Kean Cipriano for the song “Sa Ibang Mundo” (which won third prize) while James Reid collaborated with Pio for the song “Musikaw.”

The awards night will take place on July 23, 2016 at the KIA Theatre.


Loading comments