Sheryn Regis goes back to basic with her 4th album, "Starting Over Again"

"Masaya. Masaya kasi yung arrangement pang-festival. One day lang ginawa. Ewan ko. Masyado akong OA noon. Masaya mag-compose pala," Sheryn said about composing "My Heart Beats for You" which she created with her husband Earl Echiverri.

Sheryn Regis' musical career has indeed travelled a long way. Five years after ending up as 1st runner-up in Star in a Million, she has popularized many songs and has even ventured into acting (she is currently in ABS-CBN's I Love Betty La Fea). And now Sheryn releases her fourth album titled Starting Over Again.

The album has ten tracks produced by composer and hitmaker Vehnee Saturno with whom Sheryn has collaborated in the past. "Starting Over Again," a song previously done by Natalie Cole, is the carrier single.

The album was released at the Eastwood Central Plaza in Quezon City last November 15. Sheryn gave a mini-show wherein she presented some of the songs from the album as well as songs that she liked to perform. The evening's repertoire included songs from the musical Dream Girls with hits like "Listen" and "Change."

"Ang ganda kasi ng story kasi na-feel ko din na kung ako yung singer na iyon. Minsan kasi na feel ko na na-neglect ako. Kasi minsan kahit pa-paano, na-feel mo na-neglect ka na.


"Pero I try to stand talaga at sabihin, ‘Heto pa ako. I can do what yung magagawa ng tao. pwede ako diyan. Kasi na-feel ko din na ‘Oh my God, bakit ganito?' Pero yung pala may darating pala para sa iyo," Sheryn said about life's challenges.

ABOUT THE ALBUM. Nixon Sy, marketing unit head of Star Records said about the new album, "Ito kasi yung tunog ni Sheryn noong nagsisimula siya."

Her previous hits like "Kailan Kaya," "Come on in Out of the Rain," "Maybe" and "Try it on my Own" have proven that Sheryn indeed has powerful singing lungs, enough for her to be dubbed the "Powerbelter."

Sheryn describes her album as having diverse choice of songs. "May galing sa isang rock, sa isang balladeer, may galling sa... Actually, iba talaga yung album."

Other tracks in the album that are getting radio airplay include Roxette's "It Must Have Been Love" and " Always," wherein Sheryn gives a muted rendition of Bon Jovi's rock ballad.


Other noted songs in the album are original songs "Patunayan Mo" by Vehnee Saturno, "Sana Nandito Ka" by Annabelle Borja, Leandro Dannug and Vehnee Saturno and Sheryn's composition with husband Earl Echiverri, "My Heart Beats for You."

Starting Over Again is now available in music stores nationwide. Fans can also visit the new website of Star Records to buy songs online.


  1. If I'm Not in Love
  2. Where do Broken Hearts Go
  3. Always
  4. Starting Over Again
  5. Save the Best for Last
  6. For Your Eyes Only
  7. Patunayan Mo
  8. It Must Have Been Love
  9. Sana Nandito Ka
  10. My Heart Beats For You


Loading comments