Jessa Zaragoza sings the great classics in new album

Jessa Zaragoza sings classic hits from Elvis Presley, Tina Turner, Madonna and other groundbreaking artists in her new album Jessa Sings the Great Musical Icons Volume 1.

Hard rains did not deter Jessa Zaragoza from pushingthrough with the launch of her new album last Saturday, August 1, at theEntertainment Center in SM North Edsa. After a long break of six years, thePhilippines' Phenomenal Diva is back with another album titled Jessa Singsthe Great Musical Icons Volume 1.

Jessa who had migrated to the U.S. with husband DingdongAvanzado and daughter Jayda, told the entertainment press that she really missed recording albums.

"Sobrang na-miss ko talaga. Kaya lang sabi ko nga, ayokoring gumawa ng album na just for the sake lang na makagawa ng album... Siguro asan artist, very important sa 'kin na nandiyan yung passion mo," Jessa said.

The diva narrated that she continued honing her voice by performing in several concerts in the U.S.

"Actually nung nasa States kami, dun ako nahasa sa mgaconcerts. Kasi I had a concert with the Cascades, the Platters, sa New York... I'vebeen all over," Jessa explained.


She also explained that this new album feels different from her previous projects because it contains English cover songs. The diva was previously known for her Tagalog songs like Ikakasal Ka Na, Di Ba't Ikaw, and Bakit Pa.

"I'm very proud of that that they are going to see anotherside of me. Masasabi ko na yung artistry nandyan sa album na to. Kasi nandyansi Elvis Presley, Diana Ross... pinag-isipan talaga," she enthused.

THE ALBUM. Jessa Sings the Great Musical Icons Volume 1contains 12 main tracks that showcase Jessa's versions of classic hits from groundbreakingartists in the past. It also contains a bonus track, the Didith Reyes original "Bakit Ako Mahihiya," which was used as the theme song for the ABS-CBN soap opera Eva Fonda.

Among the artists that Jessa covered were Elvis Presley ("Don'tBe Cruel"), Madonna ("La Isla Bonita"), Tina Turner ("What's Love Got to doWith It"), The Police ("Every Breath You Take"), Diana Ross ("When You Tell MeThat You Love Me") and The Beatles ("I Will").


The album's carrier single is a rendition of Anne Murray's "BrokenHearted Me," which is about suffering from a failed relationship. The album alsoincludes a bonus minus one CD.

Jessa Sings the Great MusicalIcons Volume 1 is distributed by MCA Music Inc. and is now available in major record bars nationwide.


  1. Don't Be Cruel
  2. Broken Hearted Me
  3. La Isla Bonita
  4. Here I Am
  5. What's Love Got To Do With It
  6. Every Breath You Take
  7. Call Me
  8. When You Tell Me That You Love Me
  9. Lately
  10. I Am Woman
  11. The Winner Takes It All
  12. I Will
BONUS: Bakit Ako Mahihiya





Loading comments