Super Junior releases Sorry Sorry CD in the Philippines

Sep 19, 2009
The Philippine edition of Super Junior Sorry Sorry (Version C) includes a full color booklet for fans of the 13 member Korean boy-band SuJu.

Korea-based singing group Super Junior's latest CD Sorry Sorry has been making its mark in local music album charts. It debuted at the top slot a week ago after just three days of sales. Sorry Sorry is also the leading international album in Odyssey Record Stores.

This K-pop album has reportedly outsold albums by Whitney Houston, Michael Jackson, Black Eyed Peas, Lady Gaga and Taylor Swift.

This achievement was made more amazing since the Sorry Sorry album was only released on September 4th (Friday). Local Super Junior fans showed their support by trooping to the Music One stores on the first day of its release as early as 9 am and patiently waited for the CD stocks to arrive!

Super Junior, also known as simply SJ or SuJu, is a 13 member Korean boy-band. Formed in 2005, The group initially debuted with twelve members, but now consists of 13 members. With a total of thirteen members, they are the largest boy band in the world. The members are Leeteuk (the leader), Heechul, Hangeng, Yesung, Kang-in, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook, Kibum, and later, Kyuhyun. The Chinese member, Han Geng, was chosen from three thousand applicants, via auditions held in China by SM Entertainment in 2001.

Sorry, Sorry is their third and latest studio album released on March 12, 2009 in South Korea. In just days, 150,000 copies of Sorry, Sorry were pre-ordered. The album debuted at #1 on the South Korea's Hanteo Daily Charts, with approximately 30,000 copies sold, making it the biggest opening day for the group. It became the bestselling album in South Korea, Thailand, Hong Kong and Taiwan for 2009. As of May 15, 2009, over 215,000 units have been sold, being the first Korean-language album to do so in 2009.

Super Junior Sorry Sorry (Version C) comes with four new songs including "It's You," another catchy hit by the composer of Girls' Generation "Gee", "Love Disease", "She Wants It" and "I Love U More" which was written and composed by Sung Min and Ryeo Wook. The album's original 12 songs are also still around, kicking off with mega hit "Sorry Sorry," the house dance number for which Super Junior collaborated with renowned choreographer Nick Bass.

Contemporary urban dance track "Why I Like You" has also turned into a fan favorite with its unique rhythmic melody and catchy beats. Taking on a clean and sleek concept for both their image and music, Super Junior presented a variety of different songs in their third album, including the touching ballad "Let's Not..." co-written by Fly to the Sky's Fany, the Brit-pop number "Angela" and "Heartquake" featuring Dong Bang Shin Ki's U-know Yun Ho and Micky Yoo Chun.

Universal Records is proud to be the Philippine home to this Korean boy band and is the first local record label to release a K-pop album. The Philippine edition of Sorry Sorry (Version C) also includes a full color booklet.

Continue reading below ↓
Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
The Philippine edition of Super Junior Sorry Sorry (Version C) includes a full color booklet for fans of the 13 member Korean boy-band SuJu.
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results