Hilera releases self-titled album

Hilera: Big break to rock stardom

They are now braced to define a success they had craved since they were hailed as the champions at the Nescafe Soundskool in 2005; their song "Rhyme Without Reason" on top of NU107's daily rock radar; wowed a crowd largely comprising college kids as Hilera—a new three-piece punk rock band-is releasing their self-titled debut album with their first single called "Define."

Hilera's first serving is a document of what followed when vocalist Chris Padilla thought, "Honestly, we just don't want to expect anything." Chris's co-members are Ivan Garcia on guitars and Bobby Padilla on drums.

Hilera strike a direct hit on this pre-album single "Rhyme Without Reason" that introduced them to the limelight. This song written by their vocalist had given the band the break to rock stardom and quickly charted NU107's daily countdown as to have the No. 1 seat after three weeks. From the title itself, the song's author Chris defines it as: "It's about being stuck for no reason and you have to conform for no reason."

"Rhyme Without A Reason" is also included in the album.

The band comes with their first single "Define" that will define their victory in their first album with EMI Philippines. Define's music video was directed by Slapshock's bassist and label mate, Lee Nadela.

"Define" is a song about failing," Chris explained. He penned all songs in the album which completed with two Tagalog and 10 English singles. Track list is: "Rhyme Without Reason," "The Pot of Gold," "Pass the Walls," "Define," "Lies in the Head," "Dehado," "Up the Heavens," "All of This," "Pilit," "Sungrass," "Nothing New," and "Smiles and Fades."



Loading comments