Juris composes two songs for her self-titled album

Juris Fernandez offers two of her compositions: "Love Letters" and "Di Lang Ikaw" in her 14-track self-titled album.

Only a few months after she left MYMP (Make Your Momma Proud), Juris Fernandez is already soaring to new heights with her self-titled album, Juris.

The 14-track album, which hit the market last February 13, reached the fifth spot in Astro Vision and the seventh place in sales in Odyssey. If the MYMP of Juris’ time was known for its covers of hits such as Bob Marley’s "Waiting In Vain" and Milli Vanili’s "Tell Me Where It Hurts," the solo singer has gone original this time around. She even tried her hand at writing two songs for the new album.

"Lahat po ng kanta sa bagong album gustong-gusto ko, but I’m very happy with ’Love Letters.’ Ako rin po ang nagsulat ng ’Di Lang Ikaw,’ pero si Aiza Seguerra po sa music," Juris told members of the press over lunch last March 5 at the Proud Mary Café in Tomas Morato, Quezon City.

Aside from Juris’ very own work, the album released under Star Records is powered by the biggest names in the music industry, as it contains compositions by Ryan Cayabyab, Gary Valenciano, Junji Marcelo, Top Suzara, Jimmy Antiporda, and Duncan Ramos. The carrier single, "I Don’t Want To Fall," was written by singer-songwriter Cattski Espina.

Juris also contains a cover of "I Love You Goodbye" for the soundtrack of I Love You Goodbye, Star Cinema’s entry to the 35th Metro Manila Film Fest. "Nariyan Ka," a song specially arranged by Gerard Salonga for the soundtrack of May Bukas Pa, is also featured as a bonus track.


In spite of Juris’ solo success, people are still curious about her departure from MYMP last year. The band cited "irreconcilable professional differences" between Juris and guitarist Chin Alcantara, but the singer chose not to dwell on the split.

"Wala naman pong hurt feelings, pero magulo lang po talaga that time. ’Pag magulo po kasi, hindi mo maramdaman na nalulungkot ka. Meron lang po kaming di napagkaintidihan, mga desisyon sa mga gagawin," she said.

While she has not maintained contact with Chin, Juris still works with MYMP members John Angeles and Edward "Oja" Jimenez. "Naintindihan naman po nila ang pag-alis ko. May favorites na nga rin po sila sa bago kong album," she said.

Juris joined MYMP in 2002 after R&B singer Nina left the band to go solo. The band released six albums under Ivory Records before it eventually signed a contract with Star Records.

MYMP has now tapped a new singer, Juliet Bahala, who hails from Davao City just like Juris. "I don’t know her yet, hindi ko pa siya naririnig kumanta," Juris said.

But for now, solo flight is good for Juris, who is enjoying the feedback she’s getting for the new album: "Masayang-masaya po ako kasi maganda yung outcome. Maganda yung mga kanta, nagustuhan ng mga tao."

is now available in record bars nationwide.


1. I Don’t Want To Fall
2. Getting Over You
3. Opposites Attract
4. ’Di Lang Ikaw
5. Love Letters
6. Dear You
7. Kailan Kaya
8. Nandiyan Ka Lang Pala
9. You Got Me Here
10. Beautiful
11. Who Was I
12. I Don’t Wanna all (Stripped Mix)

13. Nariyan Ka
14. I Love You Goodbye






Loading comments