Joey Albert’s Songs of the Heart pays homage to modern OPM gems

Joey Albert returns with new album under Viva Records titled, Songs of the Heart. The 14-track album is composed of cover tunes previously popularized by local artists like Side A, Christian Bautista, The Company, Rivermaya, Bituin Escalanate and Martin Nievera, among others.

The passage of time along with years spent outside the country did nothing to reduce Joey Albert’s status as one of the highly-regarded local singers the industry has ever produced.

Albert’s achievements during her prime were stunning to say the least. After honing her chops as part of the popular The New Minstrels band, Joey branched out as a solo artist and produced some of the most enduring OPM singles like "Over and Over," "Tell Me," "A Million Miles Away," "Say You’re Mine," "Points of View," "Yakapin Mo Ako," "I Remember The Boy," "Ikaw Lang Ang Mamahalin," "Only A Memory," and "Iisa Pa Lamang."

Two serious bouts with cancer, which she fortunately overcame, drove Joey away from the limelight. Though no longer active in the recording scene because of her condition—along with her decision to stay in Canada— the public still clamored to hear and see Joey perform both here in the country and abroad.

The release of many issued collections consisting of old hits and songs since her semi-retirement in 1994 has proven that Joey’s music continues to enjoy popularity among the listeners.

RETURNING THE FAVOR. Songs popularized by Joey have also been covered by a handful of young artists. One of her most popular songs, "Tell Me," had been re-recorded by a handful of singers—including Side A, Rico J. Puno, Lea Salonga, Zsa Zsa Padilla, Lloyd Umali and Ariel Rivera and Regine Velasquez.

Joey perhaps had this in mind when she wrote the following note on the inlay of her latest record under Viva Records, Songs of the Heart: "To all of you who loved my music... kept my songs in your Ipods and your hearts through the years... and allowed my music to walk you through your new loves, old loves and lost loves... to you who always and faithfully made my songs the soundtrack of your yesteryears. This album is heartily and lovingly dedicated to you."


It seems that Joey is returning back the favor this time to the new breed of artists, whose unrelenting passion as heard through their respective hit singles during the previous years kept OPM’s fire burning.

Songs of the Heart features Joey covering fourteen tracks originally popularized by Side A, South Border, Christian Bautista, The Company, Rivermaya, Ana Fegi, Martin Nievera, Janno Gibbs, and Bituin Escalante, among others.

Joey’s distinct style was very evident in all of the tracks, giving each number a pop-jazz feel different from previous recorded versions.

Albert’s voice perfectly complemented the numbers "Forevermore," "Kahit Kailan," "Muntik Na Kitang Minahal," "Kung Ako Na Lang Sana," "Saan Ka Na Kaya Ngayon," "Kahit Isang Saglit," and "I Believe In Dreams."

Though she liked all of the songs included in the album, Joey picked "Forevermore" as her personal favorite largely because the material was originally done by Side A, the same band that re-introduced Albert’s "Tell Me" to local charts back in 2001.


  1. Forevermore
  2. Kahit Kailan
  3. The Way You Look At Me
  4. Muntik Na Kitang Minahal
  5. Kung Ako Na Lang Sana
  6. You’ll Be Safe Here
  7. Saan Ka Na Kaya Ngayon
  8. Minsan Pa
  9. Stay
  10. Kahit Isang Saglit
  11. Nasaan Ka Man
  12. Rainbow
  13. I Believe In Dreams
  14. Special Memory





Loading comments