Nikki Gil sings with boyfriend Billy Crawford for her third album Somebody To Love

For her third music album, Somebody To Love, Nikki Gil asked her boyfriend Billy Crawford if she could include his previously written song "Say Goodbye." They renamed it "You Are My Life," prompting Nikki to comment, "O, dib a, from nega, naging positive naman siya."

"Alternative lang siguro [itong album] para sa mga gusto namang makarinig ng orihinal, ito naman ang io-offer ko," says singer-actress Nikki Gil about her third album Sombody To Love under PolyEast Records.

Nikki, who believes her music has already matured, considers her album as a medium to showcase the talent of Pinoy songwriters.

"There are 11 tracks there, dalawa lang diyan ang hindi cover songs. So ito siguro ’yong attempt ng PolyEast and myself, ito na ang effort namin, to tap into the talents of Filipino singers and songwriters. Maraming magagaling na manunulat na Pinoy, hindi lang nabibigyan ng pagkakataon," Nikki pointed out during the press launch of her album last April 19 at the Center Stage KTV Bar in Tomas Morato, Quezon City.

Of all the tracks in the album, Nikki takes pride in one track in particular—her duet with boyfriend Billy Crawford titled "You Are My Life."

She related, "’Yong kantang ito, nagawa na niya sa France. But it was written in French. At napanood ko ’to sa YouTube at nagustuhan ko. Sabi niya, hindi naman niya ito na-record, hindi nai-publish. So, sabi ko, I have an idea to put it in my album, if it’s okay with him. He was more than happy to make up an entirely new set of lyrics. Talagang binago niya ang lahat."


Did she already hear the sweet words "you are my life" from Billy?

"Siguro via this song nasabi na niya in some way," she answered with a smile.

Aside from "You Are My Life," Nikki also highlighted the last track on her album, "I Can Only Imagine." She said this was a very timely song for her because she’s currently in a "season of changes." This refers to her transfer from ABS-CBN’s talent arm, Star Magic, to ALV Talent Circuit, which is headed by Arnold Vegafria.

"Parang this summer, so full of changes for me. Ang bilis ng pangyayari, napakaraming nagaganap in a short span of time. More than ever, parang I need God’s grace right now. So, that song would talk about how much I need Him. Alam naman nating any form of change, any form of transition, hindi madali," says Nikki.

For this album, PolyEast Records tapped songwriters such as Wency Cornejo, Arnie Mendaros, Dan Gil, Marcus David, and Chito Ilagan to lend their talent for Nikki’s third album.



  1. Somebody To Love
  2. Time And Again
  3. You Are My Life featuring Billy Crawford
  4. Don’t Break My Heart
  5. Kung Wala Ka
  6. Bawat Hakbang
  7. I Will Be Loving You
  8. Magbabalik Ka Pa Ba
  9. I’ll Be Yours
  10. Last Love
  11. I Can Only Imagine


Loading comments