Tambayan OPM Awards will take place at SM North Edsa this Saturday, May 29

Who will win the album of the year in this year’s Tambayan OPM Awards? Will it be (from upper left, clockwise) Sarah Geronimo’s Just Me, Yeng Constantino’s Lapit, Rico Blanco’s Your Universe, Sugarfree’s Mornings and Airports or Willie Revillame’s Ikaw Na Nga?

FM radio station Tambayan 101.9 will Filipino creativity and originality in the music industry with the Tambayan OPM Awards this Saturday (May 29), 5 PM, at the Skydome in SM City North Edsa, Quezon City.

The most popular names in the music scene such as 6CycleMind, Calla Lily, Sugarfree, Imago, Rocksteddy, Kyla, Laarni Lozada, Sam Concepcion, Ronnie Liang, and Pinoy Dream Academy scholars, and Piolo Pascual will gather in this special event absolutely free for all avid Tambayers.

The Kapamilya radio station will be giving out seven awards based on the criteria commercial appeal, musicality, and originality/creativity.

Nominees for the album of the year are Sarah Geronimo (Just Me), Yeng Constantino (Lapit), Rico Blanco (Your Universe), Sugarfree (Mornings and Airports) and Willie Revillame (Ikaw Na Nga).

6CycleMind, Spongecola, Hale, Sugarfree, Itchyworms, and Rocksteddy, on the other hand, are battling it out for the Band of the Year category.

Male performers Bugoy Drilon, Rico Blanco, Willie Revillame, Jericho Rosales, and Gloc 9 are competing for the Male Artist of the Year award while Pinoy Dream Academy Grand Star Dreaner Yeng Constantino, international singing sensation Charice, and pop star princess Sarah Geronimo compete for the Female Artist of the Year award.

Outstanding compositions will also be recognized through the Song of the Year Award. Nominees include "Upuan" by Gloc 9, "Antukin" by Rico Blanco, "Ikaw na Nga" by Willie Revillame, and "Lapit" by Yeng Constantino.

For the Best Novelty Song of the Year, it’s a showdown between "Pata-Pata-Pong" by Vhong Navarro and "Sana Kunin Ka Na ni Lord" by Pokwang.

Meawhile, Tambayan OPM Awards will also hand out the Kantamercial of the Year award to the best commercial jingle for the year. Competing in this category are brands Close-Up (Rico Blanco), RC Cola (Itchyworms), Purefoods Tender Juicy (JLC and Kids), Globe (Sarah Geronimo) and Selecta (Vhong Navarro).

Nominees for the Tambayan OPM Awards are songs that became hits or artists from all record labels that produced hits in 2009 that are geared towards tha audience of the radio station. Winners will be judged through text, judges, and program committee votes.

Revivals, music sampling, tagalized versions, and the likes are disqualified from entering the competition.

Don’t miss Tambayan OPM Awards this Saturday (May 29), 5 PM, at the Skydome in SM City North Edsa, Quezon City.



Loading comments