Yeng Constantino and Rico Blanco win top honors in 1st Tambayan OPM Awards

Piolo Pascual (left) and Jericho Rosales (right) were among the special guests in Tambayan 101.9’s first OPM Awards held yesterday, May 29, at SM North Edsa.

Local icons from the music and movie scene gathered last Saturday, May 29, at the Skydome in SM City North Edsa to celebrate Tambayan 101.9’s first OPM Awards. The Kapamilya radio station gave out a total of seven awards including Male Artist of the Year, Female Artist of the Year, Novelty Song of the Year, Kantamercial of the Year, Band of the Year, Album of the Year and Song of the Year.

Hits songs from January to December of 2009 were compiled by the FM radio station for inclusion in the roster.

Winners for the Tambayan OPM Awards were chosen based on results of text and online voting as well as scores from the program committee and panel of judges composed of Tambayan 101.9 Station Manager Eli Bruce Capuyan, Pinoy Dream Academy mentor Monette Silvestre, and former ABS-CBN President Freddie M. Garcia aka FMG.

The criteria for judging included commercial appeal, musicality, and originality.


The awards night was hosted by Francine Prieto and Chokoleit with the Tambayan 101.9 DJ’s as presenters.

Rico Blanco won Male Artist of the Year, beating male idols Bugoy Drilon, Willie Revillame, Jericho Rosales, and Gloc 9. Pinoy Dream Academy Grand Star Dreamer Yeng Constantino triumphed over international pop sensation Charice and pop princess Sarah Geronimo for the Female Artist of the Year award.

Vhong Navarro’s "Pata-Pata-Pong" was pitted against Pokwang’s "Sana Kunin Ka Na Ni Lord" for Novelty Song of the Year. The male comedian’s novelty hit garnered him the award.

Commercial jingles were also recognized through the Kantamercial of the Year award, offered to the jingle that made a mark on the Filipino masses. Rico Blanco’s "Come Closer" (Close-Up) beat Itchyworms’ "Penge Naman Ako Nyan" (RC Cola), John Lloyd Cruz and Kids "Kids Can Tell" (Purefoods Tender Juicy), Sarah Geronimo’s "Break The Ice" (Globe) and Vhong Navarro’s "Happy Kaarawan" (Selecta).


In behalf of his band, Sugarfree bassist Jal Taguibao received the award for Band of the Year. 6CycleMind, Spongecola, Hale, Sugarfree, Itchyworms, and Rocksteddy also competed for the title.

The Album of the Year award was handed out to Rico Blanco’s Your Universe. Other nominees for the title include Sarah Geronimo’s Just Me, Yeng Constantino’s Lapit, Sugarfree’s Mornings and Airports and Willie Revillame’s Ikaw Na Nga.

Local rapper Gloc9’s original song "Upuan" was recognized as Song of the Year. Other hits in the roster were "Antukin" by Rico Blanco, "Ikaw na Nga" by Willie Revillame, and "Lapit" by Yeng Constantino.

Except for Sugarfree, all the winners in the said categories were unable to personally accept their awards.

In addition to the seven awards, Tambayan 101.9 also recognized the late Master Rapper Francis Magalona’s heroic efforts in unifying Filipinos through an honorary award. Rap duo Stick Figgas received the Tamabayani Award in behalf of their mentor.


The star-studded event was a free treat for Tambayan’s avid listeners. Performers included Kapamilya stars Piolo Pascual, Toni Gonzaga, Sam Concepcion, and Jericho Rosales; rock bands Imago, Rocksteddy and Paraluman; Party Pilipinas mainstays Kyla and Ronnie Liang; singers OJ Mariano, Faith Cuneta, Laarni Lozada, Liezel Garcia, and Michel Josh Santana; and rap duo Stick Figgas.





Loading comments