Six Part Invention releases 15-track album Songs of D-Votion

Six Part Invention’s 15-track album titled Songs of D-Votion contains a bonus music video of the carrier single "Falling in Love."

Followers of hit primetime teleserye Agua Bendita have come to know of the song "Falling In Love," which is played in the ABS-CBN teleserye when the characters of Andi Eigenmann (Agua) and Matteo Gudicelli (Ronnie) meet along the beach. The song has come to represent the feelings of Agua when he meets Ronnie.

But fans of the show didn’t realize that the song comes from a local band called Six Part Invention (SPI) that has been making beautiful music for the past five years.

The group has another song that was used in another Kapamilya teleserye: Sana Maulit Muli that starred Kim Chiu and Gerald Anderson. That song was called "Umaasa Lang sa ’Yo."In addition , Kim made her own rendition of the song "Mine" that became part of the teleserye’s OST.

Initially composed of six members and now are down to four, Six Part Invention or SPI makes a fresh entry into the recording scene with the release of their new album titled Songs of D-Votion. It contains 15 tracks and a bonus music video of the carrier single "Falling in Love" directed by Genghis Jimenez.

The band is led of Rey Cantong who plays the guitar and also provides lead vocals. Kaye Malana is the other vocalist who provide the bittersweet emotions of the carrier single. Rey brother, Tag Cantong is on drums and percussions and Andy Dela Cruz is on bass.

Aside from performing, Rey composed and arranged all the tracks on the album. Why did they call their album as Songs of D-Votion?


"Kasi all the songs are in the key of D or related to the key of D. The first half of the album material ginawa almost a year ago pa. And then bago i-release, we rushed to record some more songs. Gusto talaga namin na gawin all-original ang album na ito. Bihira na din kasi na pop band na nag-re-release ng original material," Rey said in an interview with the band last June 28 during one of their gigs in Quezon City.

The music of Six Part Invention is described as a mix of pop, rock, ballad that is truly Pinoy pop. The boys like rock music personally but is influenced more by the music of Side A when it concerns the band. Kaye, who lends a soulful voice to the group, points out to various influences like Evanescence, Mariah Carey, Celine Dion and Beyoncé.

Rey points out that having a female voice in the band gives them flexibility in terms of song repertoire.

"In terms of repertoire, mas wide. Hindi lang puro lalake lang ang naririnig. Sa gigs, halos lahat ng kanta na ma-re-request, may babae at lalake. Hindi nakakasawa. Parang dati akala nila na puro lalake ang SPI. But with this album, mayroon variety. Saka mas wide ang naabot namin na audience," Rey pointed out.

Other choice tracks in the album are "Pangarap na Mahal", "Never Letting Go", "’Till the End" and "Pagtatanong."

Songs of D-Votion is released by Alpha Music and is now available in all record bars.



1. Falling In Love (music video)

2. The Club

3. Never Letting Go

4. Til The End

5. Falling In Love

6. Better Than This

7. The game

8. MYN 11 (instrumental)

9. Pangarap Na Mahal

10. Waiting For Your Love

11. Pagtatanong

12. Hallucination

13. Falling In Love (piano version)

14. Pangarap Na Mahal





Loading comments