Coldplay releases new album Mylo Xyloto

Mylo Xyloto, Coldplay’s 14-track album, is now available in record bars through PolyEast Records.


"Coldplay’s fifth studio album, Mylo Xyloto (pronounced my-lo zy-letoe), was released in the Philippines last October 24 by Capitol Records through Polyeast Records. The album features production work by Markus Dravs (Arcade Fire, Bjork), Daniel Green and Rik Simpson (Jay-Z, Portishead), "enoxification" and additional composition by Brian Eno (U2, David Bowie). Mylo Xyloto follows 2008’s Viva La Vida, which charted at No. 1 in 36 countries, including the United States and the United Kingdom.

"Mylo Xyloto now released in digital4 which is now available in stores nationwide. Half of the CDs will be packaged with the full color artwork as the cover while the other 50% will have the CD booklet flipped, showing the silver initials "M X" via a die-cut sheet placed over the color image.

"Paradise," the follow-up to Coldplay’s current single, "Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall." Both singles are currently heating-up radio airwaves and the video for "Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall" is also being played on MYX Channel.


"[The new songs] suggest Coldplay’s forthcoming album may be more gritty, fun, strange and (yes) danceable than any so far," observed Rolling Stone. Just as the album art was inspired by the work of New York graffiti artists of the 1970’s, Mylo Xyloto takes its cue from the sense of freedom those artists embodied.

"Songs like the frenetic "Hurts Like Heaven" and "Major Minus"--described by Billboard as "an ominous, thundering beast of a song with rattling guitars, potent (and rare) Buckland solos, and restless, shifting musical patterns"--contrast sharply with the delicate "Us Against The World," the shimmering summer single "Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall" and "Charlie Brown," with its transcendent message of hope for the outsider in all of us. The track "Princess of China" features vocals by Rihanna.

"On the album title, Mylo Xyloto, Martin explains to The Sun (UK newspaper): "At the moment it seems a bit ridiculous and I accept that. "Something about it feels quite fresh. The title doesn’t have any other meaning. I think we’re a band with a lot of history now so it’s nice to come up with something that doesn’t have any history at all. We’ve had that title for about two years on a board and any other potential titles had to be written next to it. Other ones made more sense but we just liked this one, that’s all we can defend it with."


"Coldplay--comprising Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland, Will Champion and Chris Martin--has sold more than 50 million records worldwide and won numerous awards, including seven GRAMMY Awards, six Brit Awards and four MTV Video Music Awards. The band’s last album, 2008’s Viva La Vida, charted at No. 1 in 36 countries, including the United States and the United Kingdom."

Ed’s Note: When content falls under "Press Statement," this means that the material is fully and directly from the company itself. The use of open-and-close quotation marks to envelope the entire text shows as much. This also means that PEP is not the author of the statement being read. PEP is simply providing the information for readers who may be interested.

The track listing for Mylo Xyloto is as follows:

1. Mylo Xyloto

2. Hurts Like Heaven

3. Paradise

4. Charlie Brown

5. Us Against The World

6. M.M.I.X.

7. Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall

8. Major Minus

9. U.F.O.


10. Princess of China

11. Up In Flames

12. A Hopeful Transmission

13. Don’t Let It Break Your Heart

14. Up With The Birds





Loading comments