Marian Rivera and other GMA personalities honored during the 2012 Golden Screen Awards

Mar 8, 2013


"GMA Network garnered numerous awards in the 2012 Golden Screen TV Awards held last Friday, March 1, at the Teatrino in Greenhills.

"GMA News Pillar Vicky Morales was one of the night’s biggest winners as she brought home two awards including the Outstanding Female News Presenter for Saksi’s “The Chief Justice on Trial” and the Outstanding Public Service Program Host for Wish Ko Lang’s “Lolo Rolando” and “Lunod” stories. Likewise, Wish Ko Lang! was recognized as the Outstanding Public Service Program.

"Primetime Queen Marian Rivera went home with the Best Performance by an Actress in a Drama Series award. This is Marian’s first acting award for her exceptional portrayal of the warrior-princess Amaya in the network’s pioneering epic series.

"Two-time Metro Manila Film Festival Best Actor Dingdong Dantes was recognized as the Outstanding Original Reality Competition Program Host for GMA’s reality-based artista search Protégé: The Battle For The Big Artista Break.

"Philippine Treasures, the top-trending documentary on the country’s unknown riches, was awarded as Outstanding Documentary Program. Kara David meanwhile received the Outstanding Documentary Program Host award for I-Witness’ “Silong.”

"AHA! for its episode AHA: Goes Musical emerged as the Outstanding Educational Program while host Drew Arellano was commended as the Outstanding Educational Program Host.

"The country’s biggest reality show Survivor Philippines Celebrity Doubles Showdown, in turn, was awarded as Outstanding Adapted Reality/Competition Program.

"GMA News TV’s flagship newscast State of the Nation won as the Outstanding News Program for its Ang Trahedya ni Sendong coverage.

"Winnie Monsod brought home the Outstanding Public Affairs Program Host Award that night for the “Maguindanao Trial Update” episode of Bawal Ang Pasaway Kay Mareng Winnie.

"I-Juander won as the Outstanding Magazine Program while hosts Susan Enriquez and Cesar Apolinario were cited as the Outstanding Magazine Program Hosts.

"GMA’s well-loved gag show Bubble Gang was awarded as Outstanding Gag Program while singer-songwriter Ogie Alcasid was commended with the Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Gag or Comedy Program award.

"The high-rating family sitcom Pepito Manaloto received the Outstanding Comedy Program award while comedian John Feir was named as Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Gag or Comedy Program.

"Kapuso actor Neil Ryan Sese won the Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series award for the his performance in the high-rating primetime drama Munting Heredera while Sheena Halili received the Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Gag or Comedy Program award for Tweets for My Sweet.

"The country’s longest-running noontime variety show Eat Bulaga won as Outstanding Variety Program while hosts Ryan Agoncillo and Julia Clarete received the Outstanding Male Host in a Musical or Variety Program and Outstanding Female Host in a Musical or Variety Program awards, respectively.

"GMA News Pillar Mel Tiangco received the Helen Vela Lifetime Achievement Award for Broadcasting, veteran comedian Nova Villa for Comedy and the original Queen of Philippine Movies Ms. Gloria Romero for Drama."

Ed's Note: When content falls under "Press Statement," this means that the material is fully and directly from the company issuing the press release. The use of open-and-close quotation marks to envelope the entire text shows as much. This also means that PEP is not the author of the statement being read. PEP is simply providing the information for readers who may be interested.

Continue reading below ↓
Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results