21st Star Awards for Television to take place this Sunday, November 18

Over 50awards will be given to the best television shows, performances and stationsduring the 21st PMPC Star Awards for Television. The Excellence in Broadcasting Award will be given to Ms. MelTiangco (left) while the Ading Fernando Lifetime Award will be given to Ms.Charo Santos-Concio (right).

Sponsored by the Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC), the annual awards ceremony of the 21st PMPC Star Awards for Television 2007 will take place this Sunday, November 18, at the Henry Lee Irwin Theatre ofthe Ateneo de Manila University, Quezon City.

With this year's theme, "Men of Philippine Television," thePMPC pays tribute to the men and women in broadcasting and entertainment who havecontributed to make what Philippine television is today. The hosts of the awards night—Lorna Tolentino, PopsFernandez, Ara Mina, and Boy Abunda—will hand out the trophies.

The event will gather a male-dominated group ofperformers, starting with the Cover Boys (Rafael Rossel, Zanjoe Marudo, JakeCuenca, Carlo Guevarra, and John James) and Boyz.com (Polo Ravales, FrankGarcia, Alwyn Uytingco, Gabb Drilon, and Joseph Bitangcol), as well as the sexy"Marimar" of local television, Marian Rivera.

Heartthrob Sam Milby will perform a solo spot number. Aspecial dance choreography will feature popular actors Mark Herras andJoross Gamboa, with the sexy girls Rochelle Pangilinan, Wendy Valdez, and JopayPaguia of the Sex Bomb Dancers. Another production will bepresented by the Baywalk Bodies beauties, Saicy Aguila, the dance group Anime,and comedian Rubi Rubi.

A special tribute number, to be performed by Dulce, isalso lined up to honor this year's recipient of the Ading Fernando LifetimeAchievement Award, ABS-CBN's Ms. Charo Santos-Concio.

Another honoree, Ms. Mel Tiangco of GMA-7, is this year'srecipient of the Excellence in Broadcasting Award. She will be given a fittingfinale of special songs to be performed by the singer-composerOgie Alcasid.

Hosting the night's trivia portion are Dingdong Dantes andLuis Manzano.


The 21st Star Awards for Television '07 is produced by StarView Productions (with producer Ms. Josephine Saba), in cooperation with theofficers and members of the Philippine Movie Press Club.

Delayed telecast of this Sunday's ceremony will be onSaturday, November 24 at 10 p.m. on RPN-9.





Loading comments