Martin del Rosario, Mystified among winners of 24th Asian Television Awards

by Jocelyn Dimaculangan
Jan 12, 2020
PHOTO/S: Mark Atienza

Martin del Rosario and the digital movie Mystified were among the winners honored at the 24th Asian Television Awards.

The Asian TV Awards 2020 was held last night, January 11, at the Newport Theater at Resorts World Manila.

Martin, the lead star of Born Beautiful, accepted the award for Best Leading Male Performance – Digital.

Meanwhile, Karylle and Diana Zubiri represented Mystified when it won in the Best Single Drama or Telemovie category.

GMA-7's Barangay 143 was another entry from the Philippines that won in its category.

Performed by Kris Lawrence and Krizza Neri, the song "Alanganin" won in the Best Theme Song category.

This animated show was produced by Synergy 88 Entertainment and GMA Network.

Filipino businessman Manny Pangilinan was the recipient of the Award For Outstanding Contribution to Asian Television during the Asian Television Awards 2020.

He was unable to personally receive his trophy but he did mention the intense network war in the Philippines in his acceptance speech.

His speech was read by TV5 president and CEO Jane Basas.

Continue reading below ↓

Pangilinan's speech goes: "It is a validation for a journey that—about a decade agomany thought as foolish to embark.

"We invested as a third player in a two-network town at the crux of unpredictable and rapid seismic changes in content creation, consumption, and human behavior.

"It would not have been a worthwhile adventure though if we did not have moments of trepidation."

When Pangilinan used the phrase "two-network town," the TV5 chairman was referring to the two biggest networks in the Philippines: ABS-CBN and GMA-7.

This marks the first time that the Asian Television Awards was hosted by the Philippines since its founding in 1996.

Pinoy actor Mark Neumann served as one of the hosts along with ANC’s Cathy Yang as well as Thai actress Ase Wang and Singapore media personality Wallace Ang.

On January 12, a concert will close the 24th Asian TV Awards 2020. The Sundown concert will take place at the Newport Theater at Resorts World Manila.

Continue reading below ↓

The performers include Indonesia-born recording artist and Asia’s Got Talent judge Anggun, K-pop girl group Cherry Bullet, and Vietnamese singer Hoang Yen Chibi. Pinoy artists included in the lineup are Martin Nievera, Gab and Kiana Valenciano, Jona, Morisette, Kris Lawrence, and 4th Impact.

Launched in 1996, Asian Television Awards aims to recognize excellence in programming, production and performances.

Determined by an expert panel of more than 50 judges from across the region, the results are then tabulated, with the winners only announced during the awarding ceremony which featured 60 categories.

Here are the winners of the 24th Asian TV Awards:

Best Actor in a Leading Role: William Hsieh for First Love

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Tisanart Sornsuek of True Life of a Drama Queen

Best Direction (Fiction): Jeevan Nathan of Avenue 14

Cable/Satellite Network of the Year: Line Company Thailand

Terrestrial Broadcaster of the Year: China Global Television

Best Host / Presenter – Digital: Panirin Tumwattana of Little Nirin

Best Entertainment Presenter/Host: Alana Nichols of Follow Alana

Award For Outstanding Contribution to Asian Television: Manny Pangilinan

Best Adaption of an Existing Format: Masterchef Junior Thailand Season 1

Best Reality Show: My Kitchen Rules Australia

Award for Outstanding Contribution to Asian Television Performing Arts: Anggun

Best Original Digital Drama Series: The Deadline

Best Digital Fiction Programme/Series: Social Syndrome

Best Leading Male Performance – Digital: Martin del Rosario for Born Beautiful

Best Leading Female Performance – Digital: Chanya McClory for The Deadline

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Attaphan Poonsawat of The Gifted

Best Actress in Supporting Role: Anyarin Terethananpat of Loop of Vengeance

Best Single Drama or Telemovie: Mystified

Best Drama Series: Skycastle

Best Theme Song: "Alanganin" by Kris Lawrence and Krizza Neri for Barangay 143

Continue reading below ↓

Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
PHOTO/S: Mark Atienza
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results