24 Oras wins grand final award at Asian Academy Creative Awards

by James Patrick Anarcon
Dec 3, 2021
Vicky Morales, Mike Enriquez, Mel Tiangco for 24 Oras
GMA-7's 24 Oras, anchored by (L-R) Vicky Morales, Mike Enriquez, and Mel Tiangco, is adjudged Best News Programme at the 2021 Asian Academy Creative Awards.
PHOTO/S: 24 Oras (GMA-7)

GMA-7’s flagship newscast, 24 Oras, emerged the final winner in the Best News Programme category of the 2021 Asian Academy Creative Awards.

The virtual awarding ceremony for the Grand Awards was held yesterday, December 2.

24 Oras won for its coverage of Typhoon Ulysses in November 2020 with a winning margin of 0.28 points against other national winners from different countries.

24 Oras is anchored by Mel Tiangco, Mike Enriequez, and Vicky Morales.

24 Oras wins Best National Programme at the 2021 Asian Academy Creative Awards

Continue reading below ↓

24 Oras anchor and GMA News pillar Mel Tiangco accepted the award via Zoom.

Mel Tiangco accepts 24 Oras award in Singapore

The AAAs also announced the winners for 16 other categories wherein the Philippines has national winners but lost to the other participating countries.

The Kapuso news program is, so far, the only Filipino final winner among the national winners announced on September 30, 2021.

Continue reading below ↓

These national winners then competed with other content from 16 participating countries to become the grand final winner: Australia & New Zealand, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong SAR, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, and Vietnam.

The final winners of the major awards, including Best Actor and Actress in a Leading Role, will be announced in the Gala Final on December 3.

Niña Niño’s Maja Salvador is Philippines’ national winner for Best Actress in a Leading Role, while Init Sa Magdamag’s JM de Guzman is the Philippines’ Best Actor in a Leading Role.

Here’s the list of the Philippine national winners that lost to other countries in the categories included in the December 2 Grand Final awards ceremony of the AAAs:

  • Best Adaptation of an Existing Format
    Philippine winner: The Wall Philippines: “Priests for a Cause” (Banijay Rights / Sari-Sari Network / TV5 / Cignal)
    Final winner: Singapore for The Apprentice: "ONE Championship Edition" (Refinery Media)
  • Best Animated Programme or Series (2D or 3D)
    Philippine winner: Barangay 143 Season Two (Synergy 88 Entertainment / August Media / TV Asahi)
    Final winner: Japan for Earwig and the Witch (NHK/ Studio Ghibli)
  • Best Branded Programme or Series
    Philippine winner: Peel and Win in Coke Studio Promo (UxS)
    Final winner: India for Cruising Legends: Dawn Patrol (MX Player)
  • Best Children’s Programme (One-Off/Series)
    Philippine winner: DepEd TV Filipino Grade 2 (Department of Education)
    Final winner: New Zealand for MYSTIC (Libertine Pictures and Slim Film + TV)
  • Best Current Affairs Programme or Series
    Philippine winner: Reporter’s Notebook: “Lilibeth, Sonia, Frank, and Fabel” (GMA Network)
    Final winner: Korea for PD Note Our Twisted Heroes (MBC)
  • Best Direction (Fiction)
    Philippine winner: Chad Vidanes (He’s Into Her, ABS-CBN / iWant TFC)
    Final winner: Thailand's Robbie Bridgman & Steve Chao (Traffickers: Inside The Golden Triangle (HBO / WarnerMedia / IFA Media)
  • Best Documentary Programme (One-Off)
    Philippine winner: Fedelina: A Stolen Life (ABS-CBN)
    Final winner: Australia for Birdsville Or Bust (Mint Pictures / SBS)
  • Best Editing
    Philippine winner: John Wesley Lagdameo / Alvin John Memji / Thea Rivera Daguman, The Lost Recipe (GMA-7)
    Final winner: Singapore's Muhammad Razin Bin Mohd Ramzi, Wild City: River World (Beach House Pictures / Mediacorp)
  • Best Infotainment Programme
    Philippine winner: Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho: "Baby Switching" (GMA Network)
    Final winner: Singapore's Climate Change: A Wicked Problem, Power (CNA, Mediacorp)
  • Best News or Current Affairs Presenter/Anchor
    Philippine winner: Karen Davila, ANC Headstart (ABS-CBN News Channel)
    Final winner: Singapore's Steven Chia, Talking Point (Channel 5, CNA, Mediacorp)
  • Best Preschool Programme
    Philippine winner: DepEd TV Kindergarten (Department of Education)
    Final winner: Japan for Shimajiro: A World of WOW! Our Oceans (Benesse Corporation/ TV Setouchi)
  • Best Promo or Trailer
    Philippine winner: “Iba sa 5” (TV5)
    Final Winner: Hong Kong SAR for "Save Our Planet, Save Our Children’s Future" (Phoenix Satellite Television)
  • Best Short Form Content
    Philippine winner: Kwentong Jollibee Valentine Series 2021: “First Date” (UxS)
    Final winner: Singapore for Spectrum: The Visit (Robot Playground Media/Finding Pictures)
  • Best Single Drama/Telemovie/Anthology Episode
    Philippine winner: Maalaala Mo Kaya: “Two Mothers” (ABS-CBN)
    Final winner: Taiwan's Kill for Love (Studio76 Original Productions/Taiwan Mobile myVideo/Even Creative Studio)
  • Best Single News Story
    Philippine winner: 24 Oras: “Typhoon Vamco Marikina Rescue” (GMA Network)
    National winner: India for "India's Covid-19 Crisis" (BBC World News)
  • Best Visual or Special FX in TV Series or Feature Film
    Philippine winner: The Lost Recipe (GMA Network)
    Final winner: Australia for Peter Rabbit 2: The Runaway (Method Studios/ Columbia Pictures)
Continue reading below ↓


We are now on Quento! Download the app to enjoy more articles and videos from PEP.ph and other Summit Media websites.
Read Next
Latest Stories
Trending in Summit Media Network

Featured Searches:

Read the Story →
GMA-7's 24 Oras, anchored by (L-R) Vicky Morales, Mike Enriquez, and Mel Tiangco, is adjudged Best News Programme at the 2021 Asian Academy Creative Awards.
PHOTO/S: 24 Oras (GMA-7)
  • This article was created by . Edits have been made by the PEP.ph editors.

    View Results
    Total Votes: 12,184
  • 50%
  • View Results