Aldub hailed as Most Innovative TV Loveteam; Eat Bulaga, OTWOL chosen as Most Innovative shows on television

James Reid and Nadine Lustre (left frame) topbill On The Wings of Love; Alden Richards and Maine Mendoza (aka Yaya Dub) comprise the AlDub love team

Top-rating show Eat Bulaga has been hailed as the Most Innovative TV Noontime Show.

Its popular AlDub love team (Alden Richards and Maine Mendoza) earned the title as Most Innovative TV Loveteam.

Meanwhile, among all primetime teleseryes, ABS-CBN's On The Wings of Love emerged as the Most Innovative TV Series.

This was revealed during Illumine, the 1st GIC Innovation Awards for TV.

ABS-CBN earned 11 trophies during this event, including Most Innovative TV Network.

GMA Network bagged seven trophies while TV5 got two.

Students, faculty, staff, alumni and other stakeholders of Global City Innovative College (GIC) were the ones who voted for television’s most innovative programs and personalities for the inaugural Innovation Awards for TV.

Held at the GIC campus recently, the event’s objective was to recognize programs and personalities on television that reflect GIC’s definition of “innovation” which is “change that creates a new dimension of performance.”

“Innovation is an essential and critical element in the world today. Imagine watching the same show over and over again, with the plot remaining the same, the set unchanged and the story without any twists. The need for innovation is not limited to just television, it’s more needed in education,” pointed out GIC President Engr. Michael Tan in his opening remarks.

Kane Errol Choa of ABS-CBN’s Corporate Communications department accepted the plaque and trophy on behalf of the TV station hailed as Most Innovative TV Network.

“I’d like to congratulate GIC for coming up with your own groundbreaking awards here tonight… We will continue to look for programs and produce content that will inspire, empower and resonate with our viewers as we also innovate our platforms,” promised Mr. Choa.

Ryzza Mae Dizon, winner of Most Innovative TV Child Star award represented Eat Bulaga (Most Innovative TV Noontime Show), Alden Richards and Maine Mendoza (Most Innovative TV Loveteam) and Wally Bayola (Most Innovative TV Comedian).

The other Dabarkads made up for their absence by sending video messages of appreciation.

Photo by The PhotoMan Photography Team

Here is the complete list of winners of 1st GIC Innovation Awards for TV:

1. Most Innovative Morning TV Program - Umagang Kay Ganda (ABS-CBN)

2. Most Innovative TV Noontime Show - Eat Bulaga (GMA-7)

3. Most Innovative TV News Program - TV Patrol (ABS-CBN)

4. Most Innovative TV Series - On The Wings of Love (ABS-CBN)

5. Most Innovative TV Comedy Show - Bubble Gang (GMA-7)

6. Most Innovative TV Loveteam – Aldub (GMA-7)

7. Most Innovative TV Comedian - Wally Bayola (GMA-7)

8. Most Innovative TV Comedienne - Tuesday Vargas (TV5)

9. Most Innovative TV Child Star - Ryzza Mae Dizon (GMA-7)

10. Most Innovative Male TV Newscaster - Erwin Tulfo (TV5)

11. Most Innovative Female TV Newscaster - Karen Davila (ABS-CBN)

12. Most Innovative Sunday Noontime TV ShowASAP (ABS-CBN)

13. Most Innovative Male TV Host - Boy Abunda (ABS-CBN)

14. Most Innovative Female TV Host - Kris Aquino(ABS-CBN)

15. Most Innovative TV Actor - Paulo Avelino (ABS-CBN)

16. Most Innovative TV Actress - Jodi Sta. Maria (ABS-CBN)

17. Most Innovative Magazine TV Show - Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho (GMA-7)

18. Most Innovative Magazine TV Show Host - Jessica Soho (GMA-7)

19. Most Innovative Educational TV ProgramMatanglawin (ABS-CBN)

20. Most Innovative TV Network – ABS-CBN






Loading comments