ABS-CBN wins 26 trophies while GMA-7 gets 19 trophies during 22nd Star Awards for TV

Winners of the 22nd Star Awards for Television include (from left) Robi Domingo, Sunshine Dizon, Rufa Mae Quinto, Angel Locsin, Piolo Pascual, and Luis Manzano.

GMA-7 won as this year's Best Station (the award was presented by Sen. Bong Revilla), but ABS-CBN was a runaway winner in terms of individual awards at the recently concluded 22nd Star Awards for Television 2008.

A total of twenty-six categories were won by the Kapamilya programs and stars (with 1 trophy from Studio 23), and 19 awards went to Kapuso networks banner shows and performers. GMA-7's sister station QTV11 was able to receive 6 trophies during the awarding ceremony held last November 30 at SMX Convention Center, Pasay City.

The tandem of Angel Locsin and Piolo Pascual was a big winner for the primetime series Lobo, which earned for Piolo the best drama actor award. Angel Locsin won her first acting award, the best single performance by an actress, for an episode ("Pilat") of Maalaala Mo Kaya? (Best drama anthology).

Likewise, Lobo won as best primetime TV series.

Piolo's counterpart, as best actress for a primetime series, was Sunshine Dizon who won the award for her lead role in Impostora. This year, the Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC), recognized new blood with awards such as New Female TV personalities Kylie Padilla (of Joaquin Bordado), and Patricia Gayod (MMK), and New Male TV personality Robi Domingo (now a Myx VJ).

For the comedy series,it was Ful Haus of GMA-7,and comedian Vic Sotto was voted best Male Host of Eat Bulaga! Again, Eat Bulaga! won in the Best Variety Show category, but with a co-winner in ABS-CBN's Wowowee. For the best female variety show host, the award went to Valerie Concepcion of Wowowee.

Ogie Alcasid won anew as best comedy actor, while Rufa Mae Quinto was voted best comedy actress, for GMA-7's Bubble Gang.

For best game show, ABS-CBN's Pilipinas, Game KNB? and its host, Edu Manzano, were both heavy favorites. But it was Edu's son, Luis Manzano, who won the special award as Male Star of the Night; and Rufa Mae Quinto, the Female Star of the Night.

ABS-CBN's Umagang Kay Ganda was outvoted by GMA-7's Unang Hirit. But the Kapamilya show's lady host, Pinky Webb, was indeed a "winner" herself when Edu Manzano, in his speech, acknowledged and thanked her presence, thus somehow affirming the status of their relationship

The Buzz hosts Ruffa Gutierrez and Cristy Fermin tied with each other for the category of Best Female Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show Host. Cristy is currently serving a suspension from her radio and TV hosting. During her acceptance speech, Ruffa dedicated her award to her daughters, Lorin and Venice.

Ruffa's and Cristy's male counterpart is Boy Abunda, another perennial winner, for The Buzz (Best showbiz-oriented talk show) and Boy and Kris (Best celebrity talk show/host). Unfortunately, Kris Aquino wasn't able to attend the awards night.

GMA-7's other awards include: Best Children Show/Hosts (Art Angel, with Pia Archangel, Tonipet Gaba, Krystal Reyes;), Best Travel Show (Pinoy Meets World), Best morning show/hosts (Unang Hirit), Best youth-oriented program (Boys Nxt Door), Best daytime drama series (Sine Novela Presents: Kaputol Ng Isang Awit);and Best musical variety show (SOP Rules).

ABS-CBN, on the other hand, also won awards for the following: best educational program (Matanglawin) and host, Kim Atienza; best travel show hosts Katherine de Castro, Uma Khouny, Franzen Fajardo, Kian Kazemi, and Jason Gainza (Trip Na Trip), best magazine show host, Korina Sanchez of Rated K and best gag show (Goin Bulilit), best single performance by an actor (Joshua Dionisio, for the MMK episode "Sako").

Other shows that won this year's Star Awards for TV trophies include: UNTV37's Bitag and Ben Tulfo, for Best Public Service Program and Host; ABC-5's Shall We Dance and Lucy Torres-Gomez, Arnell Ignacio and Dominic Ochoa for Best Talent Search Program and Host; and QTV11's Gandang Ricky Reyes: Parlor Game, for Best Reality Competition Program and Host; QTV11's Living It Up and hosts Raymond Gutierrez, Issa Litton, Sam Oh, and Tim Yap, for Best Lifestyle Show; Studio 23's Y Speak (Best Public Affairs Program); QTV11's Hot Seat, Best host Jessica Soho.

For the special awards, Ms. Rosa Rosal of the Philippine National Red Cross received the Ading Fernando Lifetime Achievement Award. She is best known for hosting the public service programs, Damayan and Kapwa Ko, Mahal Ko, and the comedy show, Iyan Ang Misis Ko. Ms. Rosal was joined by fellow veteran actresses (of LVN Pictures) Ms. Delia Razon and Ms. Lilia Dizon.

Another special awardee was Sen. Loren Legarda, who received the Excellence in Broadcasting Award, and, together with Rosa Rosal, was serenaded onstage by singer-comedian, Ogie Alcasid.

Presented by the Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC), the 22nd Star Awards for Television is produced by M. R. Productions, in cooperation with Airtime Marketing, Inc. Over-all direction is by Al Quinn (with Lito Calzado as stage manager). The event was hosted by Paolo Bediones, Judy Ann Santos, Anne Curtis and Gabby Concepcion, with Dingdong Dantes and Iza Calzado as trivia hosts.






Loading comments