Mau Marcelo is the first Philippine Idol

Mau Marcelo was overwhelmed when her name was called as the first Philippine Idol.

Itinanghal bilang kauna-unahang Philippine Idol si Mau Marcelo sa Big Night ng reality-based singing contest na ginanap sa Araneta Coliseum kagabi, December 10. Tinalo niya sa text and landline votes ang mga kasama niya sa Big 3 na sina Gian Magdangal at Jan Nieto.

"It was a close fight," declared Philippine Idol host Ryan Agoncillo before announcing the winner. Mau garnered 36.26% of the texters’ votes. The first runner-up, witout revealing the name, received 34.84% votes. It was a mere 1.42% difference.

Hindi napigilan ni Mau ang mapaupo at mapaiyak nang tawagin ang kanyang pangalan bilang grand winner of the very first Philippine Idol, spin-off ng highly successful na American Idol. Nang patapos na ang programa, umiiyak pa rin ang 26-year-old singer from Lucena habang naglalakad sa stage at kinakanta ang Whitney Houston original song na On My Own.

As the first Philippine Idol, Mau will receive a cash prize of P1 million, a recording contract with Sony-BMG, a non-exclusive contract with ABC-5 and Freemantle management company also worth one million pesos.

"But because the president of ABC-5, Mr. Tonyboy Cojuangco, was so impressed by the contestants, Gian Magdangal and Jan Nieto will also receive two hundred thousand pesos each," announced Ryan.

May kanya-kanyang kampo ang tatlong top PIdol contestants sa loob ng Araneta na nakapuwesto sa designated places ng Big Dome. May iwinawagayway na mahahabang orange balloons ang mga supporters ni Gian na nakaupo sa right side ng patron area; samantalang yellow balloons naman ang hawak ng mga tagahanga ni Mau na nasa left side ng stage; pero ang mga die-hard na supporters ni Jan na naka-position sa lower box right across the stage ay makikintab na blue and silver pompoms ang iwinawagayway sa tuwing tatawagin at babanggitin ang pangalan ng kanilang idolo.


In the performance night of the finals held last Saturday, December 9, sa Araneta Coliseum din, tigta-tatlong kanta ang inawit ng The Big 3.

In the Contestants’ Choice category—songs chosen by the three remaining finalists themselves—Gian sang "Impossible Dream," Jan chose "Say That You Love Me," and Mau performed "Love Takes Time."

Sa Judges’ Choice—songs chosen by the three PIdol judges: Ryan "Mr. C" Cayabyab, Pilita "Mamita" Corrales, and Francis "FM" Magalona—ang kinanta ni Gian ay "Volare," si Jan ay "Sway," at "Balut" naman kay Mau.

Sa final category, Record Producers’ Choice—songs chosen by Sony BMG Records—Gian sang "Flying Without Wings," Jan performed "Evergreen," and Mau belted out "On My Own."

Base sa performances nila, si Jan ang nakakuha ng pinakamagagandang komento mula sa judges para sa tatlong numbers niya. Gian was in his element, owning the stage in his performances but the judges still found faults in them. Mau was obviously struggling in her first two songs but made a strong comeback with her last song which Mr. C described as "magical."

In the results night yesterday, also present to perform onstage were the nine other contestants who made it to the Final 12 of Philippine Idol. Reymond Sajor, Drae Ybañez, Ken Dingle, Arms Cruz, Jeli Mateo, Stef Lazaro, and Apple Chiu sang a medley of original compositions of Mr. Ryan Cayabyab as he played the piano.

Pow Chavez’s special number with Aiza Seguerra was well-applauded. Miguel Mendoza, the contestant fondly referred to as "Bunso," sang "Here I Am"—an original composition he collaborated with Mr. C himself.


The two other co-judges of Mr. C—Mamita and rapper Francis M.—also performed onstage with the contestants.

Other guest performers during the results night were G Tongi, SexBomb Dancers, Cueshé, Hajji Alejandro, and Gary Valenciano.

Heart Evangelista, who hosts the nightly I Love Philippine Idol, co-hosted the results night with Ryan.

Some of the celebrities spotted in the audience were ABC-5 top honcho Tonyboy Cojuangco and partner Gretchen Barretto, Ryan’s girlfriend Judy Ann Santos, Jolina Magdangal with boyfriend Bebong Muñoz, Joyce Jimenez, Donita Rose, German Moreno, and DJ Mo Twister, who became a guest judge in Philippine Idol.





Loading comments