Piolo and Jericho tie for Movie Actor of the Year in 23rd Star Awards

"This night, this is God's work for me," declares Jericho Rosales (right), after being named Movie Actor of the Year for his performance in Pacquiao The Movie. Piolo Pascual bagged the same award for the movie Don't Give Up On Us.

An emotional Jericho Rosales addressed the crowd thatattended the 23rd Star Awards for Movies that took place last night, March 23,at the University of the Philippines Theater in Diliman, Quezon City.

Both Echo (Jericho's nickname) and Piolo Pascual were named Movie Actor of the Year by the Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC). Thefrontman of the band Jeans won for his role as Manny Pacquiao in the bio-pic PacquiaoThe Movie, while the heartthrob Piolo won the accolade for Star Cinema's Don'tGive Up On Us.

The star-studded event, which hadthe theme "A Night of Winners, A Night of Champions, A Night of Triumph," washosted by Dingdong Dantes, Iza Calzado, Heart Evangelista, and Echo. RyanAgoncillo served as the trivia host and had pre-taped his segment called "BestGlobal Movie Triumphs."

Judy Ann Santos of Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo (KKK) wasnamed the Movie Actress of the Year, making it one of the five awards bagged byKKK that night. Juday failed to attend the awards night however.

KKK was also chosen as Movie of the Year andhad the Most Original Screenplay of the Year. Gina Pareño was named as Movie Supporting Actress of the Year for her role as Juday's mother in the romantic comedy. Movie Director of the Year Jose Javier Reyes of KKK bestedJoyce Bernal (Don't Give Up On Us), Joel Lamangan (Pacquiao The Movie),Brillante Mendoza (Kaleldo), Cathy Molina-Garcia (You Are The One),and Cesar Montano (Ligalig) for the said category.

Making another stirring speech that night was Mr. GermanMoreno, who was picked by PMPC as the Ulirang Artista Awardee. "Noong ako'ysidewalk vendor, may mga taong tumatapak sa akin. Noong ako'y janitor, mayroonpa ring ilang mga taong tumatapak sa akin. Noong ako'y papunta sa showbiz,mayroon pa ring taong tumatapak sa akin. Nang mapunta ako sa telebisyon,mayroon pa ring mga taong tumatapak sa akin. Lahat ng pagtapak na iyan, tiniisko. Titiisin ko ang lahat kung ang kapalit naman niyan ay ang karangalan na itona binibigay ng PMPC," said Kuya Germs.


The event will be aired tonight, March 24, at 10:00 p.m. onIBC-13.

Here is the complete list of winners during the 23rd StarAwards for Movies:

Ulirang Artista Awardee
Mr. German Moreno

Movie of the Year
Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo (Star Cinema)

Movie Director of the Year
Jose Javier Reyes (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)

Digital Movie of the Year
Inang Yaya (Unitel Pictures)

Digital Movie Director of the Year
Pablo Biglang-Awa and Veronica Velasco (Inang Yaya)

Movie Actress of the Year
Judy Ann Santos (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)

Movie Actor/s of the Year
Piolo Pascual (Don't Give Up On Us)
Jericho Rosales (Pacquiao The Movie)

Movie Supporting Actress of the Year
Gina Pareño (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)

Movie Supporting Actor of the Year
Allen Dizon (Twilight Dancers)

Movie Child Performer of the Year
Tala Santos (Inang Yaya)

New Movie Actress of the Year
Maja Salvador (Sukob)

New Movie Actor of the Year
Sam Milby (You Are The One)

Movie Editor of the Year
Manet Dayrit (Sukob)

Movie Production Designer of the Year
Egay Littaua (Zsa Zsa Zaturnnah)

Movie Original Screenplay of the Year
Jose Javier Reyes (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)

Movie Cinematographer of the Year
Charlie Peralta (Don't Give Up On Us)

Movie Musical Scorer of the Year
Vincent de Jesus (Zsa Zsa Zaturnnah)

Movie Sound Engineer of the Year
Albert Michael Idioma (Sukob)

Movie Original Theme Song of the Year

"Sana Ay Malaman Mo" (Theme song from the movie Don'tGive Up On Us from Star Cinema. Composed by Ogie Alcasid and LouieOcampo/Interpreted by Piolo Pascual)

Darling of the Press
Ogie Alcasid

Male Star of the Night
Sam Milby

Female Star of the Night
Kim Chiu

Male Face of the Night
Dingdong Dantes

Female Face of the Night
Heart Evangelista





Loading comments