Ogie Alcasid named Entertainer of the Year during 21st Aliw Awards

Singer-composer Ogie Alcasid won Entertainer of the Year Award at the 21st annual Aliw Awards presentation heldlast night, November 11, at the Manila Hotel's Fiesta Pavilion. His girlfriend,Regine Velasquez (in photo), accepted the award in his behalf.

In last year's edition, Regine Velasquez was named theEntertainer of the Year by the Aliw Awards Foundation Inc. This time, she wassucceeded by her boyfriend Ogie Alcasid as the recipient of the prestigiousaward.

Unfortunately, Ogie was unable to attend the awardingceremony since he was busy taping for his upcoming Metro Manila Film Festival entryDesperadas 2. Asia's Songbird accepted the trophy (shaped as two hands clapping)during the annual event held to give due recognition to the Philippines' liveentertainers.

"Salamat po sa akin dahil sigurado ako rin ang pasasalamatan ni Ogie!" quippedRegine as she received the award in behalf of her beau.

The awarding ceremony was held at the Manila Hotel FiestaPavilion last night, November 11, with most of the awardees present to receivetheir trophies during the 21st Aliw Awards presentation.

The event, co-presented by the Aliw Awards Foundation Inc.and the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, elevated Ogie to Aliw'sHall of Fame, along with Martin Nievera and Gary Valenciano.

Other Hall of Famers include theater actors Ricky Davao andIrma Adlawan as well as opera singer Alegria Ferrer. West Side Story performerJoanna Ampil and Jed Madela were also given the same honor. Journey vocalistArnel Pineda personally accepted his Special Awardee honor as a world-classperformer.

Chosen as the Discovery of the Year is the group CardonaYouth Musical Ensemble.

The recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Awards were composer Ryan Cayabyab andMindanao State University's Sining Kambayoka. Ingrid Santamaria and ReynaldoReyes were also awarded the same honor for their immense contribution toclassical music in the country.

Hailed as the Male and Female Stars of the Night were the power couple Ryan Agoncillo and Judy Ann Santos.

Here are the winners of the 21stAliw Awards:

Mauna Kea Chan, best child performer

Lex Lopez, Best new artist (Male)

Charice, Best new artist (Female)

UP Concert Chorus, Best ChoralGroup


Nonoy Libanan, Bestinstrumentalist

Halili-Cruz Dance Co., Best DanceCompany

Air Dance, Best Modern DanceCompany;

Pagdungawan Cultural Group ofMati, Davao Oriental, Best Cultural Group

Ryan Agoncillo, Best Emcee (Male)

Miriam Quiambao, Best Emcee (Female)

John Lapus, Best Stand-Up Comedy Act (Male)

Pokwang, Best Stand-Up Comedy Act(Female)

Ramon Acoymo, Best Male Classical Performer

Rachel Gerodias, Best Female Classical Performer

Robert Seña, Best Stage Actor(Musical Play)

Joey Paras, Best Stage Actor(Non-Musical)

Rachel Alejandro, Best Stage Actress (Musical)

Shamaine Buencamino, Best Stage Actress (Non-Musical)

Nor Domingo, Best stage director(Musical)

Ricky Abad, Best stage director(Non-Musical)

Pagong At Matsing, Best MusicalProduction

The Death Of Memory, Best Non-Musical production

Richard Poon, Best Male Performerin Hotels, Music Lounges and Bars

Olivia, Best female Performer inHotels, Music Lounges and Bars; Retrospect, Best Group performer in Hotels,Music Lounges and Bars

Gerard Salonga, Best MusicalDirector

Freddie Santos, Best StageDirector

Ogie Alcasid, Best Performance ina Concert (Male)

Loboc Childrens Choir Best Performance ina Concert (Group)

Martin Nievera, Best MajorConcert (Male)

Lea Salonga, Best Major Concert(Female)

Nonoy Libanan, Verni Varga, IsayAlvarez, May Bayot for Music from the Heart, Best collaboration





Loading comments