"A Love Story" named Best Picture in the 26th Luna Awards

Maricel Soriano (left) and Paolo Contis were named Best Actress and Best Actor, respectively, in the 26th Luna Awards of the Film Academy of the Philippines. Maricel won for Bahay Kubo while Paolo was recognized for his performance in Banal.

Although it's already 2009, the film awards for 2007 are notyet over. The Film Academy of the Philippines (FAP) will hand out its 26thLuna Awards this January.

A Love Story, a husband-wife-and-mistress-triangle with atwist, leads the winners in this year's 26th Luna Awards (formerly FAP Awards).

The film produced by Star Cinema garnered five trophies that included BestPicture and Best Director for Maryo J. de los Reyes.

Diamond Star Maricel Soriano was chosen Best Actress, notfor A Love Story though, but for Regal Entertainment's Bahay Kubo. Her co-starsin A Love Story, Angelica Panganiban and Dante Rivero, bagged the awards in thesupporting categories.

Paolo Contis was named Best Actor for his performance inBanal.

In the official website of FAP, filmacademyphil.org,Director General Leo G. Martinez released the results and announced that theawarding ceremonies will be held this January.

Here is the complete list of winners in the 26thLuna Awards:

Best Picture - A Love Story (Star Cinema)

Best Director - Maryo J. de los Reyes (A Love Story)

Best Actor - Paolo Contis (Banal)

Best Actress - Maricel Soriano (Bahay Kubo)

Best Supporting Actor -Dante Rivero (A Love Story)

Best Supporting Actress - Angelica Panganiban (A Love Story)

Best Screenplay - Vanessa R. Valdez (A Love Story)

Best Cinematography - Renato de Vera (Ataul for Rent)

Best Editing - Jess Navarro (Silip)

Best Production Design - Rodell Cruz (Resiklo)

Best Sound - Ditoy Aguila (Ouija)

Best Musical Score - Carmina Reyes Cuya (Ouija)

The Academy will also bestow honors and recognition on four film industrystalwarts. The awards and the awardees are listed as follows:


Golden Reel Award - Former President Joseph Estrada (Therehad been only two Golden Reel awardees in the history of the FilmAcademy: President Corazon C. Aquino in 1988 and the late King of PhilippineMovies Fernando Poe Jr. in 2003.)

The Manuel de Leon Award - Cirio Santiago (producer-director)

FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award - Ms. Boots Anson-Roa (actress)

Lamberto Avellana Award (posthumous) -Juanito Clemente (sound engineer)

The Academy will give a plaque of appreciation to Manila Mayor Alfredo Limfor his support and assistance to the Academy. Mayor Lim was the first MetroManila executive to turn over to the Academy its share from the 25-centavocultural development tax collected by movie houses for admission ticketsretroactive to 1992. This amounted to P2.1 million.





Loading comments